First Build, Just About To Order.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2005, 07:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Exclamation First Build, Just About To Order..

Is this a good setup??? And will it be easy to put together in the Antec case?


Motherboard = DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR SKT939
£136.33 inc VAT

CPU = AMD Athlon 64 (ADA4400CDBOX) X2 4400+ socket 939 Dual Core 2.2Ghz 1Mb and 1Mb Cache
£349.94 inc VAT

Video Card = Leadtek Winfast PX 7800 GTX 256MB DDR3 256bit Dual DVI VIVO PCI-E 24 pixel pipelines also includes Splinter Cell Chaos Theory
£328.90 inc VAT

Ram = OCZ Value Dual Channel Kit 2x1024MB DDR400 PC3200 CL 3-4-4-8 (LIFETIME WARRANTY) (OCZ4002048V3DC-K)
£145.99 inc VAT

Hard Drive = Seagate ST3200822AS Barracuda 200GB 7200RPM SATA/150 8MB Cache - OEM
£63.92 inc VAT

Optical Drive = NEC ND3550A 16x DVD±RW Dual Layer Internal IDE (Black) - OEM
£29.51 inc VAT

Power Supply (PSU) = Antec TruePower II 550W 20-24pin PSU
£72.75 inc VAT

Case = Antec P180 EU Aluminium Super Miditower - No PSU
£88.06 inc VAT

TOTAL FOR REQUIRED HARDWARE = £1215.40

Addition Hardware:

Moniter = Samsung 'Best Seller' SM913N 19" TFT 8ms 700:1 (1280x1024) Monitor - Silver & Black (3 Years On Site Warranty)
£184.23 inc VAT

Keyboard = Saitek Eclipse Keyboard - USB
£28.13 inc VAT

Mouse = Logitech G5 Gaming Laser Mouse USB
£42.99 inc VAT

TOTAL INCLUDING ADDITIONAL HARDWARE = £1470.75


Are there any changes that should be made before I buy? What would you rate this setup out of 10?
__________________

zach2k6 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 08:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

10 out of 10. You have a geat system there, can't really see any problems with it. Some ppl might say that eVGA is better for the vid card, but thats about it.
__________________

Spartan is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 09:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

How many threads do you need to make lol?

Anyways finally your finished

There is no eVGA in the UK
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 10:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Default

LOL sorry bout all the threads, just wanted to finalize my choice. So im good to go then ye?

Im off to ebuyer to order.

Thanks for the help ppl.
zach2k6 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
adam02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Default

yes there is Evga in the UK www.scan.co.uk

they are gradually entering the UK market.
adam02 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Default

Ordered! Should be here by wednesday. Gives me time to learn how to put it together.

Back in school wednesday
zach2k6 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Looks very good, great processor.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 03:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by adam02
yes there is Evga in the UK www.scan.co.uk

they are gradually entering the UK market.
They must be imports or something because the 7800GTX costs £266 off Newegg yet they cost £370 on Scan.co.uk
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @2.4Ghz
Asrock ConroeXFire-eSATA2
Connect 3d X1800XT 256mb
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667Mhz
Belinea 19\" Widescreen LCD
Antec Super Lanboy
Seasonic ATX v2 430W
weringo is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 03:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 81
Default

looks good
sgtmetal is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 04:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Default

what tools will I be needing to put this thing together? Shall I go for WinXP SP2 or 64 bit edition?
__________________

zach2k6 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.