First build from the ground up. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2011, 09:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3
Default First build from the ground up.

Just looking for some experienced advice. I am going for speed. One time shot to spend big money, make it count without spending my arms and legs. Under 4000$ is my mark.


ASUS Maximus IV Extreme B3 RoG Edition Motherboard - Socket H2 (LGA1155)

Intelģ Coreô i7-2600K Processor (8M Cache, 3.40 GHz)
Radeon HD 6990 4GB (When released, I will wait. Anyone know of that date?)
Corsair CMT12GX3M3A2000C9 Dominator GT
OCZ VTX3-25SAT3-240G Vertex 3 Solid State Drive
LG WH12LS30K 12x Blu-Ray Burner
Seagate ST31000520AS Barracuda LP 1TB SATA Hard Drive Bundle (2 Pack)
Ultra X4 1600-Watt Modular Power Supply
Azza CSAZ-2000R Hurrican 2000R Full Tower Gaming Case

Display
Acer GD235HZ bid 24" Class Widescreen LCD HD Monitor

This should leave me 3D ready right?

Need to think about cooling options for the cpu. I am not sure if I plan to OC anything unless I get into a game that starts to drop under 99 fps. I wouldn't mind being able to when I wished though.

How much work is involved with liquid? Would be my first time using it.
__________________

Phantom2099 is offline  
Old 08-02-2011, 11:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: First build from the ground up.

That motherboard uses Dual Channel RAM.
You can get that Corsair Dominator GT in 8GB kits though.

Not sure how necessary 2000MHz RAM is, but might want to check out these Mushkin 1866MHz and G.Skill 1600MHz 8GB kits, can get 16GB for less than the 12GB kit you were aiming for, with enough left over to buy an aftermarket RAM cooler if you want.
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 12:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: First build from the ground up.

That setup wouldn't need anywhere near 1600w maybe 800 to 1000 tops. And if your running a single monitor as you have indicated there is no need for a 4gb card there would be no benefit to fps on a single screen over a 2gb model.
__________________
Pentium D 935 @ 4.0ghz
AsRock g31
Kingston HyperX T1, 4gb
Radeon HD 5670 @ 860mhz gddr5
Antec High Current Gamer 520
InWin Br665 matx
CyberPower Green CP1500 900W UPS
Acer 20" G205hl
Camera Canon PowerShot SX10is
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
1) Be Respectful Treat other members as you would have them treat you. This means no flaming, insulting, or belittling other members.
Thomas is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 01:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: First build from the ground up.

Honestly, considering your fairly large budget, I would wait a few months before determining components for your new pc build. Based on the fact that new products from AMD will be released pretty soon in the CPU and GPU fields(and perhaps intel as well, haven't read anything about their upcoming technologies) there are no detrimental effects to be incurred from simply waiting a short while to see how these new technologies perform compared to what is already out. This way you will be able to more effectively spend your money on a more future-proof system that will save you effort as well as cash in the long run. Basically don't go spending $3,000 now when in two more months that same $3,000 could possibly get you a better pc. Just something to consider (and this is of course considering the fact that obtaining a new pc is not an intensely time-sensitive issue for you).
thekevin4 is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 11:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: First build from the ground up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
That setup wouldn't need anywhere near 1600w maybe 800 to 1000 tops.
Agreed, the top cards from AMD and Nvidia currently don't require anything over 800w, I believe with GTX 590s in SLi you can get away with a solid 1200w.
Granted the new 6990s may require more juice, so the question is do you plan on buying 2 of them.

Also, that particular PSU got a less then stellar review on jonnyGURU.
If you want that much juice just to have it I'd suggest the Silverstone 1500w or Corsair 1200w.
If you don't plan on running 2 GPUs I'd consider a OCZ 1000w or SeaSonic 850w.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 12:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: First build from the ground up.

Don't buy from tiger, use ncix.com So much better choice, and service. Plus they pricematch.

You could also go with pccyber as theres 3 of them in town.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 06:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: First build from the ground up.

Corsair CMT12GX3M3A2000C9 Dominator GT
^^ This memory is not designed for your CPU/Motherboard. It's a 12GB kit of triple channel memory and your cpu/mobo only supports dual channel memory. Look for a 8GB(2x4GB) or 16GB(4x4GB) kit. The CPU/mobo does not support DDR3 2000MHz, it supports DDR3 1333, 1600, 1866 or 2133 MHz models. That memory is also rated for 1.65v and your CPU/Mobo are designed for memory rated at 1.5v.

I suggest this memory instead.
Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM

If your really not sure about overclocking then your choice of a motherboard is a total waste of money. That board is designed for an advanced user with a detailed knowledge of PC's and overclocking. Buy this instead.

Newegg.com - ASUS P8Z68-V PRO LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Ultra X4 1600-Watt Modular Power Supply
^^ Ultra makes what are possibly the worst power supplies on the planet and you don't need anything close to a 1600W power supply. This is more than you need for a HD 6990.

Newegg.com - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W ATX12V v2.31/ EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply

If you think you might buy a second HD 6990 then this is still more power than you'll need.

Newegg.com - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX950 (CMPSU-950TX) 950W ATX12V v2.3/EPS12V v2.91 SLI Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 06:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: First build from the ground up.

Ironically slay the 1kW + ultras are actually good.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 10:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: First build from the ground up.

The 6990 is probably never coming out.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 08-04-2011, 12:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Jagged.Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 73
Default Re: First build from the ground up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Druid View Post
The 6990 is probably never coming out.
Isn't it already out?

Derp.
__________________

__________________
Give me a rep point if I was helpful! (''Lil star in the bottom left corner)

Intel Core i7 2600k| Noctua DH-12 Cooler| Coolermaster HAF X Case| XFX Radeon HD 6970| Corsair Professional Series AX850 850w Modular| OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SATA III SSD| WD Caviar Digital Black 2TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache| 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 2133| Asus P8P67 EVO LGA 1155| Asus 24x Optical Drive
Jagged.Edge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extra psu for ground during build. oogee New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-13-2011 12:21 PM
Build a laptop from ground up? dwboucher Laptops and Notebooks 2 10-02-2010 09:39 AM
ground yourself thebattosai System Upgrades 8 12-18-2006 09:42 AM
Can someone build a laptop from ground up? Juice Daddy New Systems | Building and Buying 11 09-04-2005 04:59 PM
Happy Ground Hog Day!!!! Harper Off Topic Discussion 12 02-02-2005 06:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.