First Build, any Issues? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2015, 02:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default First Build, any Issues?

My very first build, have almost zero practical knowledge, all internet research.
So far the build is as follows: here
the website I'm on gives a check for compatibility issues but is there any mre detailed stuff I missed?
Plus any tips on the actual build process would be much appreciated.
__________________

FOLIO3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 08:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: First Build, any Issues?

you could get rid of the sound card since on board sound are pretty good now days, unless you need the sound card for something specific. Also if this build is for gaming drop the i7 to a i5 4690k and use the cash your saving from that and getting rid of the sound card to get a GTX 970 at least.
__________________

__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 09:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
bigdog33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 184
Default Re: First Build, any Issues?

Yup get rid of the sound card, drop from i7 to i5 if its for gaming.... reduce 32gb ram to 16gb, upgrade the graphics card to 970 and replace PSU with seasonic brand.
bigdog33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 11:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: First Build, any Issues?

All of these plus change your SSD over to the Samsung 850 EVO. I would get at least the 250GB.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 01:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: First Build, any Issues?

i dint see the 32gb of ram lol, yeah thats way over kill 16gb is plenty.
__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 04:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default Re: First Build, any Issues?

Ok thanks all. I think I might keep the 32gb just to future proof plus I already ordered that part :P
But seriously thanks I'll implement the rest of those changes now
FOLIO3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 07:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
MadmanRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: In the not too distant future...
Posts: 205
Default Re: First Build, any Issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FOLIO3 View Post
Ok thanks all. I think I might keep the 32gb just to future proof plus I already ordered that part :P
But seriously thanks I'll implement the rest of those changes now
No 32 is way overkill, heck 16 is overkill.
8 gb of ram is more than enough even for gaming
MadmanRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 07:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: First Build, any Issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadmanRB View Post
No 32 is way overkill, heck 16 is overkill.
8 gb of ram is more than enough even for gaming
Agreed, if you were running a server or higher end graphics programs you MIGHT actually use it, Only reason I got 16 was because it was on sale at the time for a minimal amount over 8 gig.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 09:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cb600fshornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 361
Default Re: First Build, any Issues?

32GB of RAM is definitely overkill for now, and it's not worth future-proofing because in the future components are always cheaper for a higher level of performance anyway.

16GB of RAM is fine (8GB would probably be fine too).

You're going to get frustrated with only a 128GB SSD, I'd recommend getting one at least 250GB in size!

An i7 is kind of overkill for modern gaming, a high-end i5 will perform just as well in a practical situation.

Unless you're buying an external sound-card for a specific reason or role, then don't, just use the integrated sound.

Use the money saved from cutting down on the RAM, CPU and sound card to buy a GTX970 instead of a GTX960

EDIT: Just tried the options above, the PC actually comes out 100 quid cheaper than it was in the original build!
cb600fshornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 09:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: First Build, any Issues?

I gamed pretty ok on 4GB, and a bit better on 6GB with a dated CPU and modern GPU. 8GB is and will continue to be the sweet spot until all games and engines go 64bit. The problem is, with ever increasing VRAM textures are being completely cached in VRAM and system RAM is only good for mission data and other such non-critical stuff. Unless something drastically changes I don't see this changing anytime soon meaning games should stick around the 2-3.5GB range for a while.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
help me, help please

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help: New Build: Windows 7 rebooting issues. Any thoughts? Raknor New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-16-2012 10:37 PM
Purchasing first Mac (also first powerful computer I've owned) any secrets / tips from experienced users? peaceninjah Apple and Mac 3 01-18-2012 01:47 PM
First Build: Boot up Issues JayMiller8080 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 19 12-29-2009 09:46 AM
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
Issues issues issues. Vista-64bit. 9600GT's in SLI. 4GB Vista problems. Oy Vey. TheOtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-24-2008 12:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.