First Build...... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: What would You do?
wait and not game at all...=[ 5 45.45%
I would buy a new mobo and get a pci-e card 1 9.09%
i would get some cheap ram, get a cheap mobo and a cheap pci-e card and get a cheap speaker set.. 1 9.09%
All these options are n0ob....i would not do any 4 36.36%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2006, 12:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default First Build......

I just built my first custom computer, I would just like to get some suggestions on what i should have avoided and gotten... I realize i have agp... i accedentlly DOWNGRADED from a pci express mobo to an AGP motherboard, i cant change what i did..
I also would like to know what i should upgrade/buy next.

GPU: (graphics card)
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814130264

MOBO:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813135164

Case:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16811208004

Memory:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820141165
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141164

CPU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116170

Do you think i did good.... i upgraded from this:
Radeon x300
256mb RAM
Pentium 4 (SLOW)
300 watt powersupply

Thanks for any support and feedback you give me.. its appreciated.
THANKS IN ADVANCE
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 12:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

i put a 3, i think its a nice build but its not a true gaming machine without amd, so i felt like i had to dock you there... actually maybe it would be a 2 because the bang for your buck is definatelly there

impressive... i think at this price range building your own is THE BEST... it saves you a good 40-60%... maybe more depending on what you get

but i like it!
__________________

__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 12:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

Thanks.... I wasnt even able to start up BF2.. i cant belive wat ive been missing...
I also have a unanamous question... is PCI-E really that much better than AGP???
And what makes AMD sooo much better?
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 01:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

check out the other forum ur activly participating in...
http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=97747

i had a little explination in there if u scroll down

and also, pci-e in my oppinion is an under-developed technology. not in the sense that it won't bring ANY performance increase, but mainly just that it won't bring a huge amount. i actually have my card with a x8 speed, when it could be x16 but i was told that it would just have so much bandwidth it wouldn't know what to do.

Really, i think everyone finds little stupid things about their computer that just suck, but to other people, they wouldn't notice it. I have really noticed this when i built my own. you just know so much about YOUR system that you know when it will crash, what it can handle and everything. you just have to realize comparing your build to another persons is like hearing yourself on a camera - some people just love their voice (or computer) while others regret and wish they had something different because their computers problems would go away. you really just have to get used to your own voice.

but the actual thing that makes amd better is the architecture of the chip, it allows you to carry out more tasks in a single thread than other chips. think about it this way: your task is to take 100 million dollars and move 10000 tons of bricks. exercising is like research and development. Intel simply hires a bunch of "people" who aren't paid very much and in return, don't lift as many bricks. they can, however, move quite fast. AMD however grabs about 1/2 as many people and works with them for a while, to improve their strength. The AMD "people" then move much slower, but carry more bricks each "load", or cpu cycle.... or maybe i just sound crazy with my analagies

but ur build is definatelly not crap... it is a fine machine. it could be better but that would require more money... h*ll every machine could be better to some degree
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 01:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

Thanks...
I want more ram 4 bf2
I would b playin it on medium settings.
I think i would get 1.5 gb at MAX
Do you think it is worth it???
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 01:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

SOo.. does any 1 know??
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 01:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

I voted;

Quote:
Looks like my grandmas build.
Mostly because of the Intel 2.8Ghz processor and the ECS motherboard. The Intel took you down ATLEAST 4 points right there.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 02:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Its mediocre at best, but Ok if you didn't spend too much on it. Only 768MB RAM and a P4. . Some of the parts aren't great brands either. The only really good part about it is the 6800GS, but its AGP so it loses some points there.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 03:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

how long ago did you put this thing together? did you buy the parts new? for the same price, you could've gotten a cpu thats 400mhz faster and has double the L2 cache (if you bought the parts recently..) donno why you got that old cpu..

your ram setup is odd. would not have costed much more (less than $20) to get dual channel.

maybe you should've consulted someone before you took the plunge...

IF, however, you got it for really cheap, then its pretty good. should play most stuff out there. if you didn't get a good deal, and you paid those actual prices listed on newegg.. well .. then.. hopefully your next build will be more $$ efficient. i gave it a "(#6)Sounds Dusty".
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 08:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

I had know idea about computers until now, i bought all of these parts about 1 year ago, except for the graphics card

I got the cpu 2 years ago, i dont have enough money to upgrade that so i will just go with wat i already have for a while...

But seriously you have to understand i used to be gamin with 256mb ram and now i have 756 (in two weeks it will be 1.5gb dual)

I used to have a x300 with 4 pixl pipelines+ 128 mb , now i got a 6800gs with 16 pixle pipelines+256mb

I also have a cool case.. i used to use an old dell

But my real question is if i should really upgrade to 1.5gb instead of 756.

I havent really used my new setup yet cause i have a huge error
(i have another post 4 that)

Thanks,
alexsabree
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.