First Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2007, 02:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default First Build

HELLO! Can you tell me plz if all of this is compatible, if there are any better motherboards, if the case is ok, if i require 800mhz ram rather than 667, and if the PSU is reliable and it will provide enough power, and also if i require any other fans. I intend to use this to play games on and probably not ovreclock, if i do overclock it will only be slightly. THANK YOU!


CPU
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s....html?IL-E6400

RAM
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...tml?CSR-X642G5

Graphics
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...html?NOV-79GS5

HD
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...html?SG-79S256

Motherboard + Soundcard
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...tml?GIG-965PS3

Keyboard/Mouse
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...log-967680&P=1

DVD/CD Drive
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...tml?SON-AWG17B

PSU
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s....html?TT-W0101

Case
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...l?nov-cag5&P=1
__________________

Vaanish is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 02:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

The motherboard and CPU you have chosen are going to allow for some serious overclocks. The RAM however will limit you to around 3.0ghz. If you were to get DDR2-800 RAM you should be able to hit at least 3.2 if not 3.5+

If you don't plan on doing any serious overclocking then the XMS should work for you enough.

The Video card is a pretty powerful card but i'm not too sold on their own brand of the card. If you could maybe find a premier company such as eVGA BFG or XFX that would be better.

The Case may give you heat problems as it only has 1 80mm side fan. I recommend at least one fan in the front and one in the back. Extras are nice though.

Your PSU is overkill. Look for a good 400-450 watt PSU. That should be all you would ever need.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 03:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default

thank you btw the ram i selected was 800mhz. I couldnt find a 512mb graphics card by the makers u sed and the cheapest was a bit better (about 768) and it was like £400, too expensive for me. is the graphics card ok with that motherboard? What r the disadvantages of the novatech brand Graphcis card?

how r this case and PSU?

Case
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...ml?tt-sopb&P=1

PSU
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...l?tt-w0089&P=4

THANK YOU!
Vaanish is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 03:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

You dont need a 512mb card it's just that I trust premier companies alot more in making graphics cards as they have been doing it forever. The card will probbaly work fine so dont worry.

Also the Case is MUCH better. Good cooling in that one. As for the PSU that should be plenty enough watts.

That system looks fine now.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 03:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default

Thanks For The Help

:-)
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.