First Build in 10yrs, Will it Work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2010, 06:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 7
Default First Build in 10yrs, Will it Work?

I haven't spent time inside a computer case since before they broke the 1GHz barrier and dual-cores weren't even an idea yet. My Vostro 200 is getting tired and I decided to build my own, but I'm not sure if my on-paper build is viable.

The idea is a fairly cheap (<$1000) build that can play not too demanding games (TF2, L4D2, WoW) be fairly easy to upgrade, and possibly overclock. This is what I've got so far:

CPU:AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W
Mobo:ASUS M4N98TD EVO AM3 NVIDIA nForce 980a SLI ATX AMD Motherboard
RAM:G.SKILL Ripjaws 4GB (2x2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 1600 SDRAM (PC3 12800)
GPU:MSI GeForce GTX460 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16
HD:Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB 7200RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
PSU:CORSAIR 750W 80+ Certified, SLI/XFire Ready
Case:NZXT Guardian 921 ATX Mid Tower
OS:Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Optical Drive: ...Suggestions?

Total so far comes to $864.92 (not counting rebates or shipping).
__________________

RaoulDuke is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 07:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: First Build in 10yrs, Will it Work?

It will work, but Nvidia chipsets are not what they used to be at all. Here's a great combo:
1. AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ955FBGMBOX
2. ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 AM3 AMD 890GX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

Combo Price: $272.99

Or grad this DIY kit and save over $70 plus a $20 MIR.
* AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor (Model: HDZ965FBGMBOX)
* ASUS EVO AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 AMD Motherboard (Model: M4A87TD)
* GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card (Model: GV-N460OC-1GI)
* G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory (Model: F3-12800CL7D-4GBRM)
* Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive (Model: WD5001AALS)
* SAMSUNG 22x DVD+/-R CD/DVD Burner Black SATA (Model: SH-S223C) - OEM
* COOLER MASTER HAF 922 Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case (Model: RC-922M-KKN1-GP)
* CORSAIR 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply (Model: CMPSU-650TX)

Combo Price: $711.00
$691.00 after $20.00 Mail-In Rebate(s)
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 10:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 7
Default Re: First Build in 10yrs, Will it Work?

Thank you for the insights, the more I learn the more I realize I don't know. It seems like the motherboards that are SLI ready rely on Nvidia chipsets, which was one of the deciding factors I based my decision on. Also, I've heard that there isn't a very noticeable difference between x16 and x8 PCI express when using SLI; however, one of the boards you linked is x4, I assume that would be noticeable.

I am trying to avoid the DIY kits, my last two computers were a Gateway and a Dell and I'm feeling an itch to completely customize my next rig instead of having to accept whatever shows up in the box.

Guess I'm going to have to keep surfing Newegg with Google in another tab, I'm noticing that they leave out a lot of details in the details section of their items.
RaoulDuke is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 12:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: First Build in 10yrs, Will it Work?

The DIY kits on NewEgg as basically big combos, not prebuilts like Dell or Gateway. The components all come in their original packaging, not assembled. The main plus to them is that, if you find one that has what you want, you can save a nice wad... enough to maybe buy something extra to go in/with your new rig. I have seen people save enough using NewEgg combos to buy a new monitor along with their components.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 02:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: First Build in 10yrs, Will it Work?

You should be able to just about max most games actually with that.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 02:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default Re: First Build in 10yrs, Will it Work?

i pretty much have the same specs, i can play pretty much anything maxxed @ 1920x1080. Havent played crysis tho, didnt really care for it. I want to go SLi now for 3dmark11 though. Your CPU will need good cooling if you plan to OC it. These chips take alot of volts in my experience.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 01:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 7
Default Re: First Build in 10yrs, Will it Work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
It will work, but Nvidia chipsets are not what they used to be at all.
I'm still grappling over whether its worth going over to ATi because of this. Considering that I don't usually run graphic intensive games perhaps its worth giving up SLI capabilities for a more... stable? chipset.

Also stuggling a little with my GPU choice.
I chose an Nvidia GPU because I've always used them and, although ATi's offering for a similar price outperforms it in almost every way, it does not have vertex pipelines/operations. I can't seem to find out how important these pipes/ops are so I figured its better to have and not need than vice versa.

P.S. Not sure what I was thinking but it seems like a 750w PSU might be overkill for this machine even with overclocking, more ram, and a second GPU.
RaoulDuke is offline  
Old 12-06-2010, 02:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: First Build in 10yrs, Will it Work?

You don't need an Nvidia board for sli man.

Actually, your best bet would be this with the rebate, more powerful and cheaper than both of them:

Newegg.com - XFX HD-585X-ZAFC Radeon HD 5850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card w&#47; Eyefinity
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 12-06-2010, 12:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 7
Default Re: First Build in 10yrs, Will it Work?

That card is a beast!, still a little confused about Vertex Shaders though. Maybe the site I've been using for comparisons is wrong about ATi cards not having them, or perhaps they just aren't that important. The only information I've found that seems useful is a little over my head.
I guess if it isn't hurting the millions of ATi card users out there then they can't be that essential.

So even if a board isn't SLI ready/certified, but it is for Crossfire, it won't hinder dual Nvidia cards? (example) I know you're not suggesting I get something like that then... "modify" the drivers
RaoulDuke is offline  
Old 12-06-2010, 02:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: First Build in 10yrs, Will it Work?

No, if it is a crossfire board then it is for dual ati cards. I'm just saying you don't need to buy a board from Nvidia for it to be SLI ready. You want crossfire now though anyway since you're going to get that 5850, right?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will this build work? NewbieGamerPC New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-17-2009 10:18 AM
Will this Build Work? yoshi1476 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-04-2008 10:16 PM
Buddies thinking new build for Video Editing... Would a gaming build work ? Rakie New Systems | Building and Buying 6 01-04-2008 02:30 PM
Build it and it will work.... iamjero Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 02-21-2004 02:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.