Firs time building Backtrack Lab - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2012, 04:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
GLaDOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 294
Send a message via AIM to GLaDOS
Question Firs time building Backtrack Lab

Hello everyone,

With the holidays coming around, I was thinking of building a very small BackTrack pen testing lab. I am trying to learn the fundamentals of computer security so I'm new to the pen-test lab set up. I have very limited space and was thinking of using 2 laptops (one as the attacker and one as the victim) to simulate attacks and watch them unfold in real time in order to get an understanding of how such attacks work. I was also gonna get myself a beginners guide to learning about BackTrack.

Since this is my first time building such a lab, I wanted to consult with the members here to see if they had any experience, advice, or tips. I was thinking of using 2 cheap/used laptops (maybe the Dell D620 Laptop Duo Core). Again, space is very limited (I'm essentially working out of 1 bedroom with limited table space), so maybe virtualization is the way to go? I don't know, I'm really open to any and all suggestions. Thanks everyone and Happy Thanksgiving to those who are celebrating!!
__________________

GLaDOS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 06:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Matt77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 604
Default Re: Firs time building Backtrack Lab

those laptops should be fine...

Happy turkey day!
__________________

Matt77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 07:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Firs time building Backtrack Lab

As long as their wifi cards support packet injection and can be put into Monitor Mode, they should be fine. Do some research on what wifi chipset they have to see if you'll need special drivers or if the cards are compatible or not.

Most computers I've used so far have compatible chipsets (there's a few that aren't though), and have worked flawlessly.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 08:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Matt77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 604
Default Re: Firs time building Backtrack Lab

After doing some research, I can say that those Dells will probably work. I found many threads on other forums regarding users successfully Packet Injecting on those builds.
Matt77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 09:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
GLaDOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 294
Send a message via AIM to GLaDOS
Default Re: Firs time building Backtrack Lab

Quote:
Originally Posted by -M4TT- View Post
After doing some research, I can say that those Dells will probably work. I found many threads on other forums regarding users successfully Packet Injecting on those builds.
Thanks M4TT I really appreciate you taking the time to look into that. Would I need to get my own router/wireless network set up in order to pen-test. Is it safe to have a pen-test lab like this on a production network?
GLaDOS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 09:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Matt77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 604
Default Re: Firs time building Backtrack Lab

Can you define production network?
And you could use WiFi Pineapple I think...
Matt77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 10:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Firs time building Backtrack Lab

No, Do not put the lAB out in the open. Your systems will be compromised, so someone may beable to get to your true network off your lab.

You could setup vbox systems on only 1 system and do it without a router, but grab a cheap router for like 35 bucks, or less on craiglist.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 10:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
GLaDOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 294
Send a message via AIM to GLaDOS
Default Re: Firs time building Backtrack Lab

Quote:
Originally Posted by -M4TT- View Post
Can you define production network?
And you could use WiFi Pineapple I think...
I meant the wireless network my family uses. I quickly skimmed WiFi Pineapple - does it create it's own wireless network and then just pretend to be a wireless network you've connected to before (i.e. your home network)?
GLaDOS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 10:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Matt77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 604
Default Re: Firs time building Backtrack Lab

Quote:
Originally Posted by GLaDOS View Post
I meant the wireless network my family uses. I quickly skimmed WiFi Pineapple - does it create it's own wireless network and then just pretend to be a wireless network you've connected to before (i.e. your home network)?
I remember seeing something about packet injection being used on a wifi pineapple which used custom firmware. I'll find you a link.
Matt77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 10:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
GLaDOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 294
Send a message via AIM to GLaDOS
Default Re: Firs time building Backtrack Lab

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
No, Do not put the lAB out in the open. Your systems will be compromised, so someone may beable to get to your true network off your lab.

You could setup vbox systems on only 1 system and do it without a router, but grab a cheap router for like 35 bucks, or less on craiglist.
I tried doing that on a Dell Optiplex machine I grabbed cheap from somewhere online (I did it w/o a router). I couldn't figure out how to get the virtual machine with BackTrack to attach the virtual Windows XP, but that could be more due to my lack of knowledge/understanding.

Basically, what I am trying to accomplish is to teach myself BackTrack using this book:

BackTrack 5 Wireless Penetration Testing Beginner's Guide: Vivek Ramachandran: 9781849515580: Amazon.com: Books

And it appears (according to the reviews) that this book uses 2 laptops along with a router and a usb wireless card in most of it's exercises so I was trying to mimic that in order to get the most out of it. I've tried a few online guides, but they never seem to inclusive of everything - only focusing on certain aspects or assuming you have certain knowledge that I generally don't
__________________

GLaDOS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.