FiOS Anyone? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2007, 12:45 AM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default

in case your stuck with comcast and cant upgrad to extreamly fast FIOS, on comcast u can pretty much double the speed and upgrade the speed of down and upload for 5 bucks more at least you used to be able to do that
__________________

raiders_best is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 02:17 AM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Default

Sucks that we just got another year contract with SBC DSL or whatever its now called. 6 mbps down, not sure about the upload. Pretty good for the price; we pay like 25 bucks a month. Plus I get speeds like 8mbps sometimes.
__________________

guitarplyrstevo is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 09:58 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Default

It's available in my area for around 39.99 a month at up to 15mb download. I have to check this out.
catbeardogman is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:33 PM   #24 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I've had FIOS well over year. It runs at exactly the speed as advertised. Never had one problem yet.

I'm still waiting for TV. My cable service goes out and has terrible quality. (Atlantic Broadband)
turtile is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:44 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to xwgpx55
Default

its nice, be weary of the router they give you though! not great for gaming.
xwgpx55 is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 11:34 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

yeah its whatever. depends on if you go wireless or not. i use the d-link they gave me and its fine. plus i believe you need the one they give you to hook up the tv if you get fios tv.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 05:07 AM   #27 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default

Lucky *******s with nice new tech...
only 4mb D for me ;(
but its straight though as long as I find good, fast torrents I am all set

but then again, I wish the US would get on with the VIDEO CALLING (cellphone) already!

my phone is not used to its full potential and I feel sad,
just like how some people feel bad not OCing a C2D
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 12:17 PM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

Ha, in russia they either have dial up or the fiber cable. So there isn't anything in the middle, caz cable lines would get stolen 24/7.
That's not a joke
__________________

__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.