FiOS Anyone? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2007, 03:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fade2black2004
lol yea but can you really trust anything theend says he has
true nuff.
i think he said he had a fighter plane once...
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 06:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

We just go FiOS here about 4 months ago, I guess that we're a test area or something. My parents got it though, and I have to say that it's really nice. We never ever lose our connection (we used to occasionally with Cable), and it's pretty fast. I think a lot of it depends on the site though, like downloading from a normal site you won't get super fast speeds, but I notice that when I download from a company like microsoft, I get blazing fast download rates. Internet gaming is also great, no lag at all.

They don't have FiOS TV here yet because I think that there's a licensing issue or something going on, but we'll definitely get it when it comes here.
__________________

__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 06:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
Cable: 784 up 8000 down. Put that in your FIOS and smoke it!!
Sorry buddy but your comcast highspeed or whatever it may be is not the fastest stuff around. FIOS is supposed to be around 15mb down and somewhere between 9 and 10 up.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 06:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

many majpor cities like ny, la, denver are already offering speeds at 50mb/10mb, dsl is dead however many development companies are putting fiber in new homes instead of elephone jacks, you can see fiber on the freeway its a big orange tube.
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 07:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19
Default

Wow, I figured many others would have FIOS. I've had FIOS (internet, TV, phone) for almost a year now. I have the 15Mbps/2Mbps. Actual speed is probably more like 11Mbps/1.7Mbps (per various speed tests). I have no complaints. I'm not having to use any download assistance tools like I did with my DSL service.

They offer two other plans: 5Mbps/2Mbps and 30Mbps/5Mbps.
ThomJMag is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 08:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

wow i feel stuck in the past. they just brought dsl out here and i got it last week. 1.5 down and 512 up. and now dsl is dea? i guess i never will get uber internet until i leave this town.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 09:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default

Yay for FiOS... but it's not worth it? 50 bucks.. sure your dl's will b fast but you're still limited to your host's upload. I have 29 dollar cable 4.5 / 750.... i ping bout 15-45(worst) across usa. my downloads are usually lightning fast.
__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 10:42 PM   #18 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I want dsl. dam these old people on my road. Dont want to hel get it out here.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 11:22 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
Cable: 784 up 8000 down.
so do they have this in cali i never even heard about it here near stockten and sac. , i have comcast too
raiders_best is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:34 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
Sorry buddy but your comcast highspeed or whatever it may be is not the fastest stuff around. FIOS is supposed to be around 15mb down and somewhere between 9 and 10 up.
Agreed. Fios pwns Comcast.

Verizon's packages are 5m/2m, 15m/2m, and 30m/5m. Priced at $40, $50, and $180 respectively.

I have verizon fios, 5m/2m, and its fast. We upgraded from Comcast with 4m/384k? its noticeable, plus my ping in games in a decent server rarely goes into the double digits.

Basically, its good stuff.
__________________

__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.