FiOS Anyone? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2007, 01:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Default FiOS Anyone?

I just heard about Verizon using optical fiber in their new internet and television services. Has anyone else on here heard about FiOS or have it?
__________________

guitarplyrstevo is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 02:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 105
Default

Well i cant say i have, but i live in australia so we are STILL stuck to adsl 1024/512 but thats cool
Were able to get adsl2+ soon and thats 24mbps

Sounds fast with the optical fibre, but i bet ya they will have problems with it LOL :P
__________________

__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.00Ghz FSB 400Mhz
MSI MS-6533 Motherboard
1 - Seagate 20Gb 1 - 40 gig Maxtor AND 1 Western Digital - 80 gig (Variety there eh)
Geforce 5200 128mb AGP
Liteon Dvd Burner
340watt PSU
schultzy is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 03:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Default

well one problem is the fibers cant bend a lot because its light passing through the glass. other than that they say its cool.

its $50 (US) a month for 15 mbps.
guitarplyrstevo is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 03:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Havok2k5 has fiber, I do beliave.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 09:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mjmitch2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
Default

FiOS looks promising, can't wait til its available in my area. Best part is, its blows away DSL speedwise and will cost about the same!!
__________________
"Every great adventure is started by a single step"
------------------------------------------------
C2D e6300 @ 2.8Ghz w/ Zalman 9500
Gigabyte DS3 mobo
GeIL DDR2 800 (2x512)
EVGA 8600 GTS 256mb
WD 80GB SataII & WD 250GB SataII
MadDog DVD-CDRW 16x dual layer
Dual Acer 22' LCDs
Ultra X2 550 watt
Ultra Blue Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case
Mjmitch2 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 12:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Cable: 784 up 8000 down. Put that in your FIOS and smoke it!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 01:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mjmitch2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
Default

umm, FiOS is faster
__________________
"Every great adventure is started by a single step"
------------------------------------------------
C2D e6300 @ 2.8Ghz w/ Zalman 9500
Gigabyte DS3 mobo
GeIL DDR2 800 (2x512)
EVGA 8600 GTS 256mb
WD 80GB SataII & WD 250GB SataII
MadDog DVD-CDRW 16x dual layer
Dual Acer 22' LCDs
Ultra X2 550 watt
Ultra Blue Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case
Mjmitch2 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 02:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Found this on some site.
Quote:
Unlimited Plus
16Mbps (320 times faster than a dial-up connection)
Unlimited downloads
Free high speed ethernet modem
£19.50 for the first 2 months, £24.50 thereafter
Looks like the US is still behind.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 02:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

theend187, lance and i were just taliking about it last nite.
theend has it says his typical dl speed is 15mb. holy s---!
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 03:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

lol yea but can you really trust anything theend says he has
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.