Finished my build. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2008, 03:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Tenenbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 359
Send a message via MSN to Tenenbaum
Default Finished my build.

I recieved my order yesterday. Put it all together. I will post pictures as soon as I get the camera.

NZXT Tempest
Q6600
4850HD ATI
640GB HDD
Corsair 650W TX
Asus P5E X38
Xigmatek Rifle

Everything seems to be running okay, but I did recieve one stick of bad ram.
Seems to be running okay with 2GB, but without the other 2GB, should my performance be effected a lot? Or just a noticeable amount? Or what?

And also, I scored 11700 in 3DMark06, does that seems about right?(I ran it the first time and the screen went black during the procedure and I had to restart)
After that everything ran fine, I ran 3DMark06 twice through with no problems, scoring around the same each time.

I can run Crysis on High settings, but with problems, The majority of the time..Its sort of laggy (I thought I'd be able to run it at high settings, but I guess its because of the other missing 2GB of ram?)(Edit: Maybe its because I have a 24inch monitor?)

Also after starting up the computer, the sound doesen't work, and then I restart and it works.

Does everything seems okay? Any suggestions of what I should do?
__________________

Tenenbaum is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 03:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: Finished my build.

With Vista, 4GB will be better. Crysis is a very demanding game. You said you have a 24" monitor. I'm assuming it's displaying at 1900x1200? If so, that makes the situation all-the-more demanding. There's probably nothing wrong with your system. Crysis is just very demanding, especially in DX10 I imagine.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 03:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Tenenbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 359
Send a message via MSN to Tenenbaum
Default Re: Finished my build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RalliArt882 View Post
With Vista, 4GB will be better. Crysis is a very demanding game. You said you have a 24" monitor. I'm assuming it's displaying at 1900x1200? If so, that makes the situation all-the-more demanding. There's probably nothing wrong with your system. Crysis is just very demanding, especially in DX10 I imagine.

So you think with the extra 2GB I'll be fine? Or do I even have to go out and get another video card later?

Even when running at 1024X768 on high settings I get the occasional lag.
Hopefully 2GB will make things run better. I'm on 64BIT Vista.
Tenenbaum is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Finished my build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RalliArt882 View Post
With Vista, 4GB will be better. Crysis is a very demanding game. You said you have a 24" monitor. I'm assuming it's displaying at 1900x1200? If so, that makes the situation all-the-more demanding. There's probably nothing wrong with your system. Crysis is just very demanding, especially in DX10 I imagine.
Its 1920x1200
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 03:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Tenenbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 359
Send a message via MSN to Tenenbaum
Default Re: Finished my build.

What do you think vernong?
Tenenbaum is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 03:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Finished my build.

Well the new ATi cards are doing exact opposite of what their original cards did, which used to score great on Benches, but fail on True gaming, so now its inversed and your score is fine..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 04:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Tenenbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 359
Send a message via MSN to Tenenbaum
Default Re: Finished my build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Well the new ATi cards are doing exact opposite of what their original cards did, which used to score great on Benches, but fail on True gaming, so now its inversed and your score is fine..
Well, I can run Crysis on medium at 1600X1200 with very very seldom lag.

Unless you think its the other 2GB of ram effecting my gameplay in Crysis?

Pretty much the same build before with the 8800GTS I ran Crysis on high with no lag. (Had the 4GB of ram though)
Tenenbaum is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 04:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Finished my build.

oc that quad and that score will go up a good amount
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 04:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Finished my build.

more RAM will help

OC the CPU..stuff like that might help...it's a big resolution so it's kinda demanding

GET PICS UP!!!!!!!
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 04:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Finished my build.

Yes... as we say... this thread is useless without pics!!
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1st build, high end pc, non-gamer ksmart New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-04-2007 05:51 PM
semi-final build plan (with some issues) plz giv input Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 10-15-2007 10:03 PM
Domain Controller and SQL server Build abadjay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-05-2007 08:39 AM
Computer Building Tutorials (videos)... first build OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-15-2007 12:18 PM
help with newly finished build... (DVD codec?) therascalking New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-12-2007 12:31 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.