finished building, now what? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2007, 08:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 235
Default Re: finished building, now what?

right ill be back in like 2 hours to let you know how it goes, lol.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6420
GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
G.SKILL 2GB DDR2 800 (2x1GB)
Seagate Barracuda 320 GB
Rosewill 550 Watt
Hanns-G 19" Widescreen
CoolerMaster Centurion 5 Mid Tower
funkywaggnelz is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 08:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 235
Default Re: finished building, now what?

ok, i have it hooked up to the mother board and the video card with the processor outside the case... nothing.... it doesn't even turn on now.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6420
GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
G.SKILL 2GB DDR2 800 (2x1GB)
Seagate Barracuda 320 GB
Rosewill 550 Watt
Hanns-G 19" Widescreen
CoolerMaster Centurion 5 Mid Tower
funkywaggnelz is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 09:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: finished building, now what?

And your sure the 20/24 and 4 Pin connector are plugged in.

Also if the Video card has a Connector, it needs to Be plugged in.

If that is all done and it still does not turn on.
To see if the Power supply is bad, DISSCONNECT IT FROM EVERYTHING except a few case fans, Then using a rubber glove or anything that insults your hand, take a paper clip, One end into a Black Wire on the 20/24 Pin connector and the other end into a Green wire on the 20/24 Pin connector.


IF the power supply does not turn on after the paper clip is in both (At same time) wires, then the PSU is bad and needs to be RMAed.
Ste is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:19 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 235
Default Re: finished building, now what?

did that, fans work that way... i rebuilt it and did some things differently... wish me luck!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6420
GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
G.SKILL 2GB DDR2 800 (2x1GB)
Seagate Barracuda 320 GB
Rosewill 550 Watt
Hanns-G 19" Widescreen
CoolerMaster Centurion 5 Mid Tower
funkywaggnelz is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:39 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 235
Default Re: finished building, now what?

OK, it didn't work... again... nothing at all. Here is how everything has happened. I got everything hooked up and ready to go. When I would turn the power on, the fans and LEDs flicked on for a second then shut off. I took it apart and tried a barebone start up, absolutely nothing. Then, I did the wire thing in the 20/24 connecter and it powered up right away and the fan i hooked it up to spun. I put everything back together, tied wires more carefully, no molex touching metal. I changed the plug to the vid card and put in a 6 pin to molex plug adapter thing. now nothing happens... again. any ideas? the PSU works, cuz the paper clip thing worked.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6420
GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
G.SKILL 2GB DDR2 800 (2x1GB)
Seagate Barracuda 320 GB
Rosewill 550 Watt
Hanns-G 19" Widescreen
CoolerMaster Centurion 5 Mid Tower
funkywaggnelz is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:41 AM   #16 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: finished building, now what?

processor power connector
hsf isnt mounted properly: processor overheat
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:49 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: finished building, now what?

Since the PSU works, and the only time it doesn't work is when its in the case, this leads me to believe that is is a grounding issue with the motherboard.

make sure you used the correct standoffs.

If you have other devices connected besides just RAM, CPU and Video card when mobo is in case, start connecting them one at a time, turning on computer each time, add a new part each time the previous allows the computer to POST properly. Once you hit the part that causes the split second power on then power off, its likely a problem with that part or connector to it.

Though its still most likely a mobo/standoff/grounding issue as you can get it to work outside of case but not in case..
Ste is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:53 AM   #18 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: finished building, now what?

@ste "ok, i have it hooked up to the mother board and the video card with the processor outside the case... nothing.... it doesn't even turn on now."
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 01:00 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: finished building, now what?

Id RMA the Power supply, just to elminate it completly from this Problem. (Though it is possible to get another bad one, though rare)

As it seems that it cannot maintain a heavier load than just a few fans or barebone components.

This is a strange problem, I would do the paper clip thing one more time, to see if the PSU is really dead. If it powers on again, I would try the barebone test, AGAIN... lol

If it doesnt turn on, def RMA it..

It is also possible that the Motherboard has a bad connection somewhere on the 20/24 Pin Connector. (On the mobo itself)
Ste is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 07:47 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 235
Default Re: finished building, now what?

how do i RMA something? do i need to pay to do it and how long does it take?

is there any way i can test the mobo itself?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6420
GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
G.SKILL 2GB DDR2 800 (2x1GB)
Seagate Barracuda 320 GB
Rosewill 550 Watt
Hanns-G 19" Widescreen
CoolerMaster Centurion 5 Mid Tower
funkywaggnelz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a light table death2twinkys Off Topic Discussion 11 06-04-2007 12:19 AM
Noob Needs Advise for Building Gaming Comp therascalking New Systems | Building and Buying 29 05-20-2007 08:53 PM
Help Building a CAD Comp =] GopherBallz New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-19-2007 03:45 PM
Building Media Computer - Need Advice bigbaddog Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 04-12-2007 11:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.