Finally ready to get a new PC, little help please? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2005, 07:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default Finally ready to get a new PC, little help please?

After browsing the forums and asking some questions, I think I'm finally ready to buy a new computer. This is one of the rare cases where it would cost more to build it myself. Does anyone have any comments / advice?

I've decided to overclock the CPU (to 2.2 - 2.5 Ghz) Since this is from Ibuypower.com, some of my choises are limited.

Processor: Athlon-64 X2 3800

Motherboard: MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum nForce4 Ultra Chipset w/7.1 Sound, Dual Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0, IEEE 1394 PCI-E MB

Memory: 2048 MB [1024MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory Module Corsair-Value or Major Brand

Video Card: [PCI-Express 16x] Nvidia Geforce 6600GT 128MB

Hard Drive: 160 GB HARD DRIVES [S-ATA] Western Digital 160 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache Hard Drive

Processor Cooling: CoolerMaster Liquid CPU Cooling Fan System Kit + 2 EXTRA CASE FANS

PSU: Standard Case Power Supply(420 W)

CD-RW/DVD-RW Drive: 16x DVD-ROM + 52x32x52 CD-RW Combo Drive Beige

Sound Card: 3D Premium Surround Sound Onboard

Speakers:600W PMPO 3 PCS Super Bass Subwoofer Speaker System

Total: $1,190
__________________

nezzari is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 07:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to SiR|RogerWaters
Default

check out www.cyberpowersystem.com thats where i got my machine. good if your on a budget. hope it helps.
__________________

SiR|RogerWaters is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 08:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

Thanks, I'll check it out. I'm also worried about the power supply, is 420W enough for liquid cooling?
nezzari is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 08:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to SiR|RogerWaters
Default

what type of liquid cooling are you looking at? check out its requirements
SiR|RogerWaters is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 08:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

I think I'll be alright with that cooling system. Anything else?
nezzari is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 11:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

um, the liquid cooling is unneccessary, the 939 stock cooler rocks, take the money you save to go to a 450w thermaltake or antec PSU and spend a little bit more & go for a 7800gt, it just makes sense
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 11:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The_Tobes99
um, the liquid cooling is unneccessary, the 939 stock cooler rocks, take the money you save to go to a 450w thermaltake or antec PSU and spend a little bit more & go for a 7800gt, it just makes sense
I'm planning on overclocking the processor to at least 2.4 Ghz. I heard that my motherboard isn't really the best one for overclocking, so I figured I might need a nice cooling system.
nezzari is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 12:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

go for the DFI lanparty sli-dr for overclocking then
Xiahou is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 01:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default

I think the MSI will be fine for overclocking, not the BEST but it will do fine. I agree thou, you dont need liquid cooling, just get a good heatsink and fan cooler, like a Zalman or something. And if you want to overclock you probably dont want the Value RAM either. Value RAM dosnt overclock very much, and since you want to overclock a 3800 to 4800 speeds, I would say get some better RAM, which sould be easily in the budget when you get rid of the water cooling.
Tro1086 is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 04:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

Tro1086: Can't I overclock the CPU without doing anything to the ram? Or do I have to overclock them both?
__________________

nezzari is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.