Finally ordering C2D setup today....need opinions - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2007, 12:42 AM   #21 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Yea, but, Im anal, If my comp screws up just once, JUST once even if its in a 2 week time period. Then, to me, its not stable. Which is why Im only @ 2.7 ghz.

I greatly dislike restarting.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 12:45 AM   #22 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Stable to me is when your computer can run at max load for least 12 hours. Even if it has a crash after that I consider it stable as a reset wouldn't really care to me at that amount of hours. That being said, my system is very stable but I just thought i'd say what I would consider stable. Plus if your CPU hasnt messed up in 12 hours of pure torture, theres a very unlikely chance it will crash anytime soon.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 12:54 AM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Yeah I like to go for 18 hours, even though most guides say to go for 24 hours. A lot of databases, such as the one over at [H]Forums only require proof of a 4-hour stability test though, just a sign of stability not being as important to people as it was just a year ago. There's newer programs out there like OCCT, Orthos, etc but I still like to love me some Prime95. :classic:
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 12:55 AM   #24 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Prime doesnt max out my load LOL. It only ran my CPU up to 60pct or so. It did kill my ram though. Thus to make it 100% I ran guild wars in the background ..LOL
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 12:56 AM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

I passed lenghty Prime tests and Memtest and my system still crashed from playing BF2...backed off the overclock and BF2 worked fine...so from my experience, nothing beats a cranked up game with 64 players...

Good luck with that nice system B1g....I'm jealous...screw the bragging rights, see how the thing performs with a minor overclock in whatever you use it for and if your games/programs work flawlessly then your good!
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 12:58 AM   #26 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

and in addition to that, dual instances of prime 95 with the ram maxed out will, as sora says, "torture" your rig far beyond the load it typically will have. exceptions to every rule.
i say, and this is good enough for me, 8 hours minimum (sometimes i go for 12 also when reaching for high o.c.) dual p95 using all ram, then at least one week heavy usage no crashes and no temp issues(i.e. high or crashes).
i am on my computer typically about 4-6 hours a day.
and i have yet to see my loads or temps even remotely reach the level they do during dual p95.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 01:04 AM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Mine usually get close during gaming sessions.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 01:09 AM   #28 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

I dont game that much right now since my bittorrent doesnt work on my new computer and my bank account is dry from this rig so I think you get where i'm leading too. I do play guild wars competitivley still and I'm in a top 50 guild in the world.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 01:36 AM   #29 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TriEclipse
Mine usually get close during gaming sessions.
well, when i say remotely...
i mean the cpu usage is not 100%, nor is the ram usage.
hardcore online fps games for me maybe 60ish %
my temps will reach low 50's dual p95. highest i've ever had while gaming is about 45-47.
which is close enough lol.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 03:29 AM   #30 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

I think that your definition of stable should be based on what you do. The most stress my comp will see in normal use is a couple hours of gameplay so a ~4 hour stable run in prime is good for me. Now if you typically stress your comp for 24 hours then you should run the test for at least 24 hours because thats just common sense.
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.