Finally ordering C2D setup today....need opinions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2007, 08:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Finally ordering C2D setup today....need opinions

Hey guys, I'm finally ordering my C2D setup today and just wanted to make sure I'm getting the right stuff. I'm getting the following:

Intel® Core 2 Duo E6400 Conroe Processor 2.13GHz, 1066FSB, LGA775, 2MB Cache Retail
https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...ductCode=80859

Asus P5N-E SLI nForce 650i SLI Socket 775 1066MHz DDR2 - 1000 Motherboard Retail
https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...uctCode=247123

Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400 2GB Kit DDR2-800 XMS2-6400 Xtreme Performance Memory Retail
https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...ctCode=85025-5

Zalman CNPS9500 LED CPU Cooler Retail
https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...uctCode=373500

I'm ordering from zipzoomfly this time, instead of my usual ordering from newegg, because it came out alot cheaper. Total is $678.97 from zipzoomfly on 2-day shipping, compared to newegg standard: $698.22

I plan on doing some overclocking. Do you guys think I can at least, reach a 3.6+GHz OC, with these parts? Like is that ram very overclockable? I will be using the rest of the system from my sig, along with these I'm ordering soon. I appreciate any comments...thanks.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 08:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Lol, 3.6+ Ghz? Its not the RAM you have to worry about, your processor is much more likely to run out of juice first. If you do reach that speed, it isn't likely to pass stability tests. Parts look fine though.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 08:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

lol...Well at least 3GHz? lol, doesn't really matter, because C2Ds own at stock, and KOs my current rig.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 09:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Yeah, you should be able to break 3Ghz, but above 3.5Ghz isn't common while retaining stability.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 10:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

What about the E6600, you can add about $100 more for it. Then you might be able to archive your goal depending on your motherboard.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 10:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

looks pretty good to me, tho i would reccomend a E6600
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 10:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Same basic core, neither the Allendales nor the Conroes are especially adept at 3.5Ghz+. Only a lucky few, and luck does not seem to be discriminating between the two.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 10:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

what about the difference in the l2 cache (2mb vs 4mb)?
is that important?
would it help the overclock?
i don't think so, but i am just curious...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 10:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I don't think it's a noticeable difference, because all of the C2Ds, are fast...no matter which one you pick.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 11:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

i don't know i got my e6400 to 3.4ghz and it was running fine. orthos for about 8hrs and it was only at 1.375v and 41C idle? could have pushed it a little further so 3.6 isn't quite out of the question.

i don't leave it that high, and it runs just fine at 2.8 where it is now.
__________________

__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.