Finally have the funds to start my build! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2013, 11:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Finally have the funds to start my build!

And you think the same isn't happening for Nvidia's drivers?

Actually, Skyrim runs better on AMD cards and that's evident. The 660ti is still better than the 7950 with the 13.2 drivers as of Feb this year. I think the 13.3 are the latest and I don't see that actually changing too much.
A driver update to reduce Radeon frame times - The Tech Report - Page 2

I don't see any reviews for any 13.3 beta drivers, but like I said it isn't going to magically give them a 20-50% increase over launch. Or even 10-15% over 13.2. With each 10th decimal beta release is small incremental improvements on specific games for GCN cards, not global. For each individual game it's very small. With each Nvidia driver release, the 600 series gets the same amount.

BUT none of it amounts to the fact that, Nvidia drivers are still superior. AMD are trying to get better, but I have not seen any evidence using my own AMD card of that actually happening.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 04:56 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
MalignantBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: GA
Posts: 73
Default Re: Finally have the funds to start my build!

I'm not worried about the external, I have an external hard drive that's 500gigs
__________________

MalignantBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 09:35 AM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Finally have the funds to start my build!

Then replace the 1TB with the Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 09:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Finally have the funds to start my build!

I change my 660ti recommendation to this one.
PowerColor PCS+ AX7870 2GBD5-2DHPPV3E Radeon HD 7870 MYST. Edition (Tahiti LE) 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card (UEFI Ready) - Newegg.com

It also gives you a bit more cash to play with elsewhere, like affording the SSD or getting a better case.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 12:26 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
MalignantBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: GA
Posts: 73
Default Re: Finally have the funds to start my build!


Could I upgrade to 16GB? Thats what I really want
MalignantBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 12:29 AM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Finally have the funds to start my build!

If you're just gaming there isn't a need for 16GB of RAM.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 10:34 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
MalignantBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: GA
Posts: 73
Default Re: Finally have the funds to start my build!

This is the case I'm thinking about purcashing. Toughts?

TC102 Mid Tower ATX Computer Case with 500W Power Supply
MalignantBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 12:14 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Finally have the funds to start my build!

Case is ok, but don't use the PSU. It's junk.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 05:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Wrenches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 83
Default Re: Finally have the funds to start my build!

Don't get a case with PSU in it, they're cheap stuff. Get a decent case and get a Seasonic PSU to protect your investment.
__________________

Wrenches is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.