Finally have the funds to start my build!

MalignantBC

Baseband Member
So I am finally able to start building my PC. I don't know too much about it but thats how I am planning on learning more. I have a case and I'm planning on look at motherboards. Where should I start? I am completely new to this.

I don't know the name of the case. It's one my friend is giving me so I can get a name for it later. My budget starting now is $800. I can add more down the road if needed so. I want it for gaming. I want to be able to duel screen. (plan is to have game on one screen and whatever else I want on the second.)

oh wow! thanks!

Just curious,I would like a pretty fast computer. Would you recommend putting alittle more money into it? Or would I be able to get the results that I need from what you provided?

Last edited:
any more money you can add can be put into a better gpu for gaming. a lot more money and you can upgrade the gpu and psu. even more upgrade the cpu.

oh wow! thanks!

Just curious,I would like a pretty fast computer. Would you recommend putting alittle more money into it? Or would I be able to get the results that I need from what you provided?

Depends on what results you're looking for.

I would upgrade 2 things really. The GPU, and get an SSD. That required at least 200 extra.

i would ditch the HDD and put that money towards a SSD, get a 128gig SSD for your OS and about 6 games, and put everything else, videos, music and pictures on an external hard drive. and dont get a 660, the lowest end card i would get would be a 660ti. but honestly, i would get a 7950 over a 660ti these days. AMD last few drivers for the 79xx series cards really have matured the cards into powerhouse cards! and you can get a 7950 for about $280-$300.

Also, ditch the optical drive, thats $20 wasted dollars on old tech. i havent used a optical drive in like 3 years.