Finally gonna get my new computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2006, 07:35 PM   #11 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

I find UPS and FedEx are equally good. Only problem I have is with Purolator. Lazy as ****. Three times I've tried using them giving them another chance (they're the cheapest through NCIX) and all three times the site said every day for four days "On Truck for Delivery". Finally on the fourth day it would come lol
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 07:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

I just decided to take the dive and get the E6600. I spent most of the money that I could spend. The rest (around $900-$1000) is owed to me by my father, over 3 years of work and I decided to not spend it. I decided that since I'm saving up I might as well just have him pay me when I'm ready to use it. His money is all tied up at the moment, it's the holiday season, and him paying me back now would eat up pretty much all of his extra money for gifts and that kind of stuff.

So once he frees up some money I'm going to buy a video card. I am currently looking at the 7950 GT or the 8800GTS. However, another reason I am holding off is the R600 comes out soon. It will drive prices down and the R600 will probably destroy the G80.

To be honest, CivIII: Conquests by itself can hold me over for a while. I absolutely love that game; and once I get it up and running I'm going to download the CivIV demo, and if that works decent enough I'll probably just buy that.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 10:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Okay, I just finished it, and I'm going to play with it a little. First time building 100% from the ground up by myself, it went like a breeze. I don't know why people think it's so hard.

Well, I'm going to see how well HL2 runs (not so well probably), then probably try the CivIV demo.

Okay, I just did a mild overclock and got it to 2.6GHz. Seems to be pretty stable.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 02:01 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

I think I might get a 7600GT that can hold me over for a while.

This thing is worse than my other friends integrated graphics. At least he could get 30+ fps in CSS, ( I get 4-13 fps on the ABSOLUTE minimum settings). It even struggled with Morrowind, it's funny though, UT 2004 played pretty good on it, yet it gets worse frames than what I would say as graphically low games.

I mean it's defiantly an improvement (a huge one I might add), but I thought for sure it would be just as fast, if not faster, than what my friend had for sure.

He had a AthlonXP 2800+, 512 of DDR333, and an integrated nVidia chipset. What a shame lol.

I just looked at the back of my mobo box, and it says "The Intel G965 Express Chipset with Intel GMA X3000 provide the 3D muscle needed for the latest mainstream games."

What a joke, mainsteam games my ***, the dam thing chokes up on Morrowind (which was a major blockbuster that came out 3 or 4 years ago)! I mean wtf were they thinking when they thought of "mainstream games", Half-Life 1?

Theoretically it could be a pretty decent GPU (ie, beable to play recent games at least 30+ fps) due to it's specs. But if Intel doesn't even bother putting out a decent driver, it will never be the integrated GPU that can play new games as they were hoping. The thing supposably supports DX9 and SM 3.0, but the thing doesn't even support pixel shading in MW!

I mean, I knew it was going to be ****ty, but not this ****ty.

*End of rant*

I might end up just using the EVGA step-up program later on if I get the 7600GT.

Which one should I get?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130062

or

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130017
Waphlez is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 03:02 AM   #15 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
and some video card from a company that went out of buisness.
If it is PCI, then use it for now. It will probably be better than your onboard.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 03:07 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

when i had my onboard video, it played UT2003 on max but wouldn't play other games at all....wierd
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 06:15 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by timblanchard
when i had my onboard video, it played UT2003 on max but wouldn't play other games at all....wierd
huh. Onboard video. MAX no way. U must of had a good CPU or alot of onboard video
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 07:47 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
If it is PCI, then use it for now. It will probably be better than your onboard.
O god, I think I should kick my self in the ***z for even thinking about using that old POS.

Just think of it this way, it can't even display 800x600 in 32bit color, and can't even go up to 1024x768. Chokes up on Diablo II at 800x600 resolution, runs HL1 like a slide show. At least this thing can do something.

So I'm just going get a 7600GT, which should last me a while till I finally get the real deal.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 01:23 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

save 50 bucks and get a 7300gt, you wont notice it with games like civ. I bought one, works great... about the same as a 7600gs but it can be overclocked quite well.

7300gt stock = x1600 stock

not bad for the money
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 09:26 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Well, I just ordered an EVGA 7600GT KO version. I could have went with the 7950GT but decided just to get a mid-range card that can hold me over for a while till I upgrade to a high-end gpu. Possibly use the step-up program, but that depends on when I upgrade.

Not to mention my mom is getting irritated on how much I'm using up on her card (since I don't have my own credit card)
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.