Finally Done!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2008, 09:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
Default Finally Done!!!

This was my first ever time building a computer and I got it to work perfectly on the first time

(25% luck 50% guessing 25% reading the manual )

im running an intel core 2 duo e8400 @ idle temp of 20 degrees Celsius, i have all drivers installed. the graphics card is super sexy too, 8800GTS 512mb, 4gb ram (3.5 because of the 512mb the gfx card takes) I cant wait until i get my games installed so i can experience the full force of the 8800gts
__________________

santa is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 10:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Finally Done!!!

512mb the gpu takes?? im glad you had a good first build.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Finally Done!!!

Congrats on build and congrats on understanding that the GPU takes up a memory address in a 32bit OS.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 10:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
Default Re: Finally Done!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
512mb the gpu takes?? im glad you had a good first build.
yeah because its an 8800 gts 512mb card, thats why you dont see 4gb when you have 4gb installed, the graphics card uses that 512mb, at least thats what i know from what i've heard

edit: ty peter!
santa is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 10:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Finally Done!!!

Yea. And if you get a 64-bit version of the OS, you can see all 4GB + the video ram.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 10:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Finally Done!!!

ooh, i didn't know you had a 32bit os.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 10:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Finally Done!!!

Nice, you'll be ocing in no time.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 10:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Finally Done!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
ooh, i didn't know you had a 32bit os.
I just took a stab at it
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 10:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
Default Re: Finally Done!!!

yup im not planning on going to 32 bit at this moment, nor overclock since i didnt even get to test out my current speeds :P i only set this up about 2 hours ago. I might overclock my stuff once i learn how though. btw does overclocking void my warranty with intel?
santa is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 12:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Finally Done!!!

Yea but everyone here does it. Its not as dangerous as it use to be. Do lots of research so you understand everything and your on your way. I mean Intel doesn't make unlocked multi cpu's cause they want you to run them at stock speeds. They oc their stuff at shows too.
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally building a NEW COMPUTER!!! creflo New Systems | Building and Buying 30 02-19-2008 10:18 PM
Xbox 360 finally supporting Divx and Xvid Osiris Microsoft XBox 17 01-12-2008 03:58 AM
Sweet new job (finally!) Jorsoft Off Topic Discussion 10 01-05-2008 08:23 PM
Finally...finally a mid-range card Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 13 10-30-2007 04:38 AM
Thanks to all....my OCing is finally done! jfenwick Overclocking and Modding 9 09-01-2007 08:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.