Finally! Build done, Time for you to rate it. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2006, 02:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to HellFireRS Send a message via Yahoo to HellFireRS
Default Finally! Build done, Time for you to rate it.

Ok, this is my first build...and you guys have helped me out alot with suggestions and i appreciate it alot. So now heres the final test, Judgement day, so rate me on this build. Its a Gaming rig.

Motherboard: Evga nForce 680i SLI

Processor: C2D E6400 2.14ghz

Video Card: BFG GeForce 8800gts 640mb

Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy2 (came from old system)

Monitor: ViewSonic 19'' Widescreen lcd

Case: Antec P180 (5x120mm fans)

PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600x SLI

RAM: Heres the tricky one, and a question goes with it..I currently only have the 2 512mb sticks from my old rig (i think there just pc3200) ..different brands unfortunitly, will this dramaticly hold me back on gaming?

And one other thing, am i able to just transfer my old HardDrive to this new computer? Im not sure if things work this way or not.

Thanks Guys

Eddie
__________________

HellFireRS is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 02:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

you have to reformat windows when you change motherboards
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 02:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to HellFireRS Send a message via Yahoo to HellFireRS
Default

So whats going to happen when i start the system up for the first time with the HD in it? Do i just throw in the windows XP CD when it comes up and re-install it? Or do i have to fully format the HD?
__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...ignature-1.jpg
3dMark06 = 12954 3d Marks
HellFireRS is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 03:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

you have to reinstall windows from my understanding
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 03:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 134
Default

When you put the windows disc in it should give you an option, somewhere along the line, to format the disc.

EDIT: Oh, and by the way, I give that build an 11 out of 10. Nice job!
__________________
NZXT Apollo
Gigabyte 965P-S3
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
Corsair DDR2 667 Value Ram-1 GB
SilverStone NT06
2x300GB Maxtor Hard drives
Sony DVD Burner
19\" Dell LCD Monitor
jared17 is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 06:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

I'd rate it an 8, just because the P180 isn't going to fit a GTX, and the processor could be an E6600.

Other then that, very good stuff! Should last you a while.
__________________

See Wii. See Wii run. See Wii blow all the other consoles out of the water!
KBlair is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 06:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KBlair
I'd rate it an 8, just because the P180 isn't going to fit a GTX, and the processor could be an E6600.

Other then that, very good stuff! Should last you a while.
Do you know for a fact that the P180 won't fit the 8800 GTX? If you got to the antec website and look at the features of the case you can remove one of the drive cages in the middle that could potentially block it otherwise. You really shouldn't need that extra cage seeing how it blocks air flow and there are like three or five HDD slots in the bottom drive cage. The middle one is just useless and can be replaced with another fan.

and as for rating, i HIGHLY recommend getting the e6600. that is without a doubt the best bang for buck core 2 and my friends who have one coupled with a newer vid card have amazing results.
__________________

__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.