Finally, another 6800, however... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2006, 02:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default Finally, another 6800, however...

I've finally found another Leadtek Winfast 6800 Sli ready.
Here's my problem, the one i have is a 6800gs the one being sold is a 6800 ultra. Will they still work together?
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 03:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

No, you need another 6800GS.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 03:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default

I had a nasty feeling that would be the case. In that case does anyone know where I can find a Leadtek WinFast GeForce 6800 GS TDH 256MB SLI PCIE?
__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 03:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

I have heard some where that with the newer drivers that odd cards would work... but don't quote me... I think it works on only certain mobo's though... but I have heard of odd cards going SLI
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 03:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

As long as they are the same clock speeds I dont see why they wouldnt work...?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 03:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I thought they didnt have to be by the same brand jusy have the same clock speeds, memory ect.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 03:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

http://www.lmc.com.au/obs/website/pr...=yahooshopping
maybe?
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 07:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Direct from Nvidia

Quote:
In order to provide optimal symmetric scaling, SLI technology requires the NVIDIA GPUs to match. For example, a GeForce 7800 GTX must be paired with another GeForce 7800 GTX. Likewise, a GeForce 6600 GT must be paired with another GeForce 6600 GT. However, using the latest Release 80 or later graphics drivers, NVIDIA GPUs sold by different manufacturers can be used together in an SLI configuration. For example, a GeForce 7800 GT from vendor ABC can be matched with a GeForce 7800 GT from vendor XYZ.
turtile is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 07:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

pretty much said.. you just need the same core... and the speeds will be running at the lower graphics card i guess... i think thats how it went... not 100 % sure
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 11:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

wow, i found a 6800GS for $146, but i dont know if the store is reliable or not.

http://www.tronetstore.com/product_i...products_id=89
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.