Finalising... Finally! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2006, 04:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default Finalising... Finally!

Okie dokie, i'd never buy a setup now without consulting everyone here first, so thats what i'm gonna do now!!

I can basically salvage my old DVD drive, floppy drive and my case, thats about it unfortunately. So, this is what i'm going to replace everything else with:

Intel Core 2 DUO E6600 2.4ghz
nVidia 7900gto
ASUS P5B-E Socket T (LGA 775)
530W Hiper PSU
Corsair PC5300 value (go value!! Woo) RAM
160 Gb Western Digital SATA HD
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

I guess all i'm asking is if there's going to be any compatablility errors or not, or if I could cut a few corners anywhere to save money (like a similar mobo for cheaper or whatnot)

Or any other feedback would be great too!

Thanks
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default

EDIT: Am definitely sticking with the GFX card, the processor and the RAM
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 12:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

how much is the mobo you list there? and do you plan to go solo or want a future dual gpu set up?
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 01:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default

the mobo's £94. and no i probably wont go for a dual setup. not for a while anyways, so i'll look for a non sli mobo for now (saves me money which means i can get the e6600 rather than the e6400)
__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 03:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

1. If you are wanting to save money on this build, you should stick with the E6300 or E6400... Cheap Thrills: Core 2 Duo E6400 Overclocked to 3.33 GHz.

2. This should be moved to the Building, Buying, Upgrading for General PCs forum.

Good luck with the build.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 03:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

hmm...

"2. This should be moved to the Building, Buying, Upgrading for General PCs forum."

I thought his basic setup is high performance...people must be on quad cpu and gpu set ups already and/or only?

anything conroe is high performance
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 05:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 41
Default

cryface
__________________

Elec_ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.