Final Solutions - please review

Status
Not open for further replies.

blayez

Baseband Member
I have been doing a lot of research lately and the people on this forum have been outstanding in helping me picking out products, comparing them, and helping me fill in knowledge that I didn't have before.

When I first started my research, I wanted to do a couple of upgrades myself on my Dell XPS 700 now that I have some knowledge to start thinking about upgrading/building my own PC's from now on.

Anyway, the reason I wanted to upgrade were to improve performance in such new high-end games as Age of Conan, Lord of the Rings Online, Crysis, etc. I am trying to get to where I can run these games on the higher settings (maybe not Crysis) without any problems. The main 3 things I initially wanted to upgrade were my RAM, Graphic Card, and Monitor. (please note that I have never overclocked anything on my computer and everything is still stock settings - I did this as to not void any warranties, but now that my warranty is up... what the hey?)

What I am using before:

RAM - 2gigs(2x1) of whatever brand Dell uses on their gaming Rigs(more info at the end of post).

GRAPHICS CARD - Nvidia Geforce 7900 GTX 512mb

Monitor - 19" (non-wide) Dell LCD Monitor (max 1280x1024)

After much research, price hunting, and questions, I have decided to get the following setup:

RAM - Newegg.com - OCZ ReaperX HPC 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory