Final check, for the third time - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2006, 05:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 28
Default Final check, for the third time

The computer will be used for heavy gaming, I'm not overclocking.

(I'm not purchasing any of these from Newegg, the links provided are for informational purposes)

Antec P180 ATX Mid-Tower Case


PC Power & Cooling TURBO-COOL 850 Watt (950W Peak) (Overkill, I know)


[939-pin] AMD® Athlon-64 X2 3800+ CPU w/ Hyper Transport Technology


Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe nForce4 SLI-x16 Chipset w/7.1 Sound, Dual Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0, IEEE 1394, Dual PCI-E MB


2048 MB [1024MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory Module Corsair-Value


Nvidia Geforce 7900GT 256MB w/ DVI + TV Out Video


WD Raptor WD740GD 74.0GB 8M Cache Hard Drive


16X Dual Format/Double Layer DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive


12-In-1 Internal Flash Media Card Reader/Writer


MS Windows XP Home Edition w/Service Pack-2


Opti-UPS SS1200-AVR Mighty Voltage Regulator


Wireless 802.11g 54Mbps PCI Adapter


ViewSonic VX922 Black/Silver 19" 2ms


Total: $2,264.00 (This is including an extended warranty)

It comes with some generic speakers I might replace later as well.

Anything I should reconsider?

Thanks.
__________________

CeleryGoblin is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 05:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

.... Maybe drop down on the psu and buy some nice Memory and a higher cpu.
__________________

__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 06:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

PC Power & Cooling TURBO-COOL 850 Watt (950W Peak)

lol holy crap.

get something chepaer and yet extremely reliable and get better parts!!!
also, the ram you picked is incompatible w/ your rig.
FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN ATX12V/ EPS12V 700W All-In-One Power Supply 115/230 V CSA,IEC,UL,CE,TUV
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104015 $170.50

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Toledo 1GHz HT 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket 939 Dual Core Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103546 $458.00

OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Platinum System Memory
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227210 $199 -$40MIR = $159

and i think after all that you've saved $63 (i mighta screwed up the calculations.. hehe)

or you could go another route and maybe spend not as much on the cpu i mentioned and just get a better video card (well the vid card you have now is really good still..)

btw.. your sig is really funny, LOL!
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 06:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Wireless 802.11g 54Mbps PCI Adapter
hope you dont plan on gaming online w/ that.


i have excellent connection w/ my router at 54mbps and i still lag. big difference from wire connection.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 07:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

dont get the 4400+. I have one and i regret it (as ive stated in other threads). i reccomend an opty 170. since your not overclocking its still a great proccesor out of the box, but if you decide too you can get ridiculous speeds with it.

3800 is good. alot of people have them, but i just like my opteron 170 so much. if you have the money get one.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 07:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 202
Default

Get a different PSU, maybe the Enermax Liberty 620 (what I just bought) or the Seasonic S16 600, it will be plenty, both are about $150. I was going to get that same PSU but after much deliberation, I realized that it was too much based on how much it cost. And then upgrade the RAM.

If you then have the money get the RAM that ASUS and Corsair matched for each other. The TWINX20483500LLPRO it was $300 at zipzoomfly but is well worth it and boots out of the box at 2-3-2-6 timings. Check out a pic of my rig with the RAM in it.

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=97303
bryan64 is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 08:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 28
Default

So the current setup will not work as of now, right?
__________________

CeleryGoblin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.