A few questions about an upgrade... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2006, 06:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default A few questions about an upgrade...

My friend has told me a few things which im quite sure aren't true and just wanted to clear things up,

1) Can you run an agp graphics card in a pci-express motherboard?

2) I've found this ram called Hynix ram, it's 1024mb, (not 2x512), what is soo good about the "good gaming" ram, if I had 4gbs of this stuff wouldn't it be just as good? Im not intending to overclock it at all.

That's about it, my main concern is question 1 as I'm sure that you can't run an agp card in a pci-express mobo. But anyway get back to me,

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 06:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

1) theres one mobo with an AGP slot and PCIE16 slot so yes but not really

2) Not really, I had hynix ram on my 9800pro video card

4GB's wouldnt be excellent for gaming, Dunno 2GB's enough and 4GB's is just overkill and highly expensive
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 06:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

yeah, but if you buy 4gb you are prepared for the future, but dont games wont start needing 4gb's for a couple years.

lol there's actually about 4 mobos that support both.

there's also a mobo with both 754 and 939, what is this world coming too.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 07:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

Can you give me brand + models for these mobo's that support both agp and pci-ex?
Yeah so what IS So good about this gaming ram and why do people pay ridiculous amounts of money to buy it when i can buy this hynix ddr400, pc3200 ram for $103 AUD each! for a 1024mb stick.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ice=&maxPrice=

Take those model numbers and look for them in AUD sites
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 10:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

more expensive rams have lower latencies (tigher timings).

so some expensive ram will have 2-2-2 timings while cheap ram will be like 4-4-4. more expensive ram also tends not to give your motherboard problems...

more expensive ram is also more overclockable. when ppl want to overclock their cpus, they also have to overclock their motherboard bus speed, which inturn speeds up their memory. (mem dividers are a way of going around this.......but now i'm getting too technical..)

and for dual-channel ram, if you buy a kit, those rams are tested and guaranteed to work together in dual channel. cheap ram isn't.. it CAN... but not guaranteed.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.