A few questions. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2007, 10:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to iUser
Default A few questions.

I am going to go with the ASUS P5W DH DELUXE/WIFI-AP LGA 775 Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard and I have a few questions.

First for the processor:

I am obviously going with the Intel Core 2 Duo processor, but I am wondering if it is worth the extra money to upgrade to the Quad Core Extreme? It can be seen here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115011

I was just wondering the benefits of Quad Core over Dual Core.

If I decide not to get the Quad Core I will probably be going with this processor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115002

Next up, with my motherboard I have a question about RAM selection.

I am getting 2GB of DDR2 Ram, but I am wondering how I should purchase it and if there are any pros/cons to purchasing them in the 2 separate ways listed below.

Should I get two 1GB bars:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231090

Or one 2GB bar:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231121

Thanks guys.
__________________

__________________
[COLOR=\"Navy\"]iUser[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"red\"]Interweb addict since \'04.[/COLOR]
Register an account to iPhoneChat.com
iUser is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 151
Default

Don't get the Quad core. Maybe in a year or so. It will be going to complete waste, the only thing its good for atm is graphics rendering and serious multi-tasking (not games). (When it will actully be useful gaming wise it'll be ALOT cheaper)

Some people put it to test from what i saw, and gaming wise the e6600 is just as good as the quad core.

Don't go for the e6700, get the e6600, the small difference between the e6600 and the e6700 isn't worth it. You can slightly overclock the e6600 and it'll be just as good as the e6700 afaik.

About the ram i'm not sure. I'm quite new to this but have been reading up for a while.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600, 2.4 GHz,
512MB EVGA 7950GT
Gigabyte GA 965P-DS3
2GB CorsairTwinX XMS2, DDR2 PC2-6400
580W HiperPower Type-R BLUE.
Antec Nine Hundred
Goodmans 19\'\' widescreen
Adzh is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Don't get quad core, there are very very few programs that take advantage of it. And I doubt you can use all four core effectively. Save youself $200 and get this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115003

Also get 2x1gb, so you can run them in dual channel.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to iUser
Default

My current problem right now on my old Alienware is running Photoshop CS2, Dreamweaver 8, Flash 8, a few chat programs, and some internet windows... oh and Windows Media Player at the same time. for long lengths of time. My computer eventually won't even alt-tab without taking 2 minutes.
__________________
[COLOR=\"Navy\"]iUser[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"red\"]Interweb addict since \'04.[/COLOR]
Register an account to iPhoneChat.com
iUser is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

What are the specs of the alienware?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 151
Default

And i think a duocore should be sufficient for them tasks, i don't know though.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600, 2.4 GHz,
512MB EVGA 7950GT
Gigabyte GA 965P-DS3
2GB CorsairTwinX XMS2, DDR2 PC2-6400
580W HiperPower Type-R BLUE.
Antec Nine Hundred
Goodmans 19\'\' widescreen
Adzh is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to iUser
Default

Quote:
Don't go for the e6700, get the e6600, the small difference between the e6600 and the e6700 isn't worth it. You can slightly overclock the e6600 and it'll be just as good as the e6700 afaik.
I don't even know the beginning of how to overclock something. I never really got into that kind of thing.
__________________
[COLOR=\"Navy\"]iUser[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"red\"]Interweb addict since \'04.[/COLOR]
Register an account to iPhoneChat.com
iUser is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yea I meant quad core...sorry about that...I edited it. Yea the e6600 dual core, will handle all those programs easily.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by iUser
I don't even know the beginning of how to overclock something. I never really got into that kind of thing.
Me neither, i read for 2 hours and understood it.

An e6600 will overclock to an e6700, so easy its unreal. And won't need extra cooling afaik.

I understand the processor overclocking a little :].
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600, 2.4 GHz,
512MB EVGA 7950GT
Gigabyte GA 965P-DS3
2GB CorsairTwinX XMS2, DDR2 PC2-6400
580W HiperPower Type-R BLUE.
Antec Nine Hundred
Goodmans 19\'\' widescreen
Adzh is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to iUser
Default

Quote:
What are the specs of the alienware?
2.08GHz (or something like that), 756mb RDRAM (wallet killer), uh an old *** nVidia ti4400 128mb vid card, not sure of the processor, but it's on par with the video card, as in old.

The computer itself is from '04, if that helps you at all.
__________________

__________________
[COLOR=\"Navy\"]iUser[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"red\"]Interweb addict since \'04.[/COLOR]
Register an account to iPhoneChat.com
iUser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.