Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2009, 12:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel?

Should I upgrade:

1) Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Black Edition Processor - Processors - Desktops

Newegg.com - Open Box: ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

-- or --

2) Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 Yorkfield 2.66GHz 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

If I chose this Intel upgrade, is it future-proof if I want to upgrade to i7? Or will I need another mobo for an i7 upgrade later on?

Thx..


Current Build:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor 2.6GHz
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 3850 512MB 256-bit
MSI K9A2 CF-F AM2+/AM2 AMD
G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 and G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Sony NEC Optiarc 20X DVDĪR DVD Burner Black IDE Model
Cooler Master CM 690 Case
Seagate 500GB HD
Ultra V-Series 500W PSU (+12V, 28A)
Windows Vista 64 bit SP1
__________________

M4A1 is offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 12:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
myowngod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 286
Default Re: Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel?

i7 needs an x58 mobo... so no... but in electronics.. nothing is future-proof...
__________________

__________________
HAF 932 | i7 920 @ 4.4ghz | OCZ Platinum | EVGA GTX285-SC | EVGA X58 SLI
Corsair 1000HX | Samsung T240 & 2253bw | Watercooled
myowngod is offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 12:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default Re: Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel?

what is x58? link?
M4A1 is offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 01:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel?

I would go with the top option, you should pair the 940 with a biostar 128m which will be in a combo deal.
If you were to go i7 The cheapest x58 that is a decent board is the gigabyte UD3R which is about $200. I can't get a newegg link because my internet is really slow atm.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 01:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel?

The Q8*** series as a whole is a load of crap. The AMD would be the best.

x58 is strictly for i7, which is socket 1366. Completely different than the older quads, which are socket 775.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 01:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel?

The only real good quad was the q9550, the rest were not worth the price, and now better cpus are out like the phenoms which are great.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 01:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel?

Well, I wouldn't say all that now.

The early Q6600's were great. Q8***'s full of fail. The Q9*** series in general isn't terrible. The Q9650 is way too expensive for what you get, but the Q9300/9400/9450's weren't bad.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 01:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default Re: Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel?

Ok thanks for the help. If I go with the first option (new CPU and new mobo), should I get a new PSU?

I was looking into the Corsair 550TX or 650TX. Im only thinking about the 650 because I had some of my Team Fortress 2 (TF2) games just suddenly stop and the PC would restart itself automatically - perhaps a bad PSU?
M4A1 is offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 01:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel?

Your psu should be fine as long as its decent quality, 28A will be enough to power your system. But since i havent heard of the brand ULTRA so much it could be the reason why your computer is dropping out at load, to solve this you should run a stress test like 3dmark06 and see if it drops out in the that test because that will put your computer at more load then any game would. I would probably get a cheaper psu like the OCZ modxstream 600w which has great efficiency and is generally a bit cheaper.

Also, sorry hik, i meant all the newish quads after the kentsfields. (q8/9's)
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-09-2009, 01:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel?

Oh no, it's cool. :P I was just pointing it out.

Don't mind me, it's 1:30am here. Lol.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD or Intel Gomar Laptops and Notebooks 9 01-29-2009 09:04 AM
Hello AMD Socket G34 Trotter New Technology and Products 45 12-27-2008 06:33 PM
Best intel motherboard for the following options - please help! blue-lynx New Systems | Building and Buying 2 09-13-2008 01:32 PM
CPU: AMD 6400+ vs Intel E6550 ChingChong23 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-30-2008 06:07 PM
Intel or Amd? computerneeder Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 02-13-2008 10:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.