feedback on this gaming rig plz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2006, 05:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 24
Default feedback on this gaming rig plz

Ok im planning on buying all of the following parts for a high-end gaming comp. The only thing i am not really sure about is the monitor and memory.

CPU: AMD FX-62

MOBO: Gigabyte GA-M59SLI-S5 Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI (not completely sure on this either)

RAM: OCZ GOLD 2x1gb ddr2 800

GPU: eVGA geforce 7950gx2

CASE: Thermaltake armor black aluminum full tower atx

PSU: OCZ Gamexstream 700w

HD: WD Raptor 74gb 10k rpm

DVD-ROM: SONY black ide dvd-rom

Keyboard: Logitech g15

Mouse: logitech g5

OS: XP PRO

Again the only things im not really sure about is the ram and monitor. Im looking for an lcd larger than 20" widescreen thats really good for gaming. Of course if anyone finds something else wrong in these specs plz tell me. Thanks
__________________

peace2acorn is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 05:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default

may i ask how much you paid for that?
__________________

__________________
E6320 @ 3.290
8800GTS 320mb
DS3
G-skill NQ's 2x1gb
Samsung 19in
XCLI 500w
WD 250GB SATA
Thermaltake Xaser 3 full tower
3DMark06 10667


raiders_best is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 05:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 306
Default

do intel and get a core 2 duo e6400 then overclock it
youll need a new motherboard too
but RAM is ok
__________________







Office 2007 for Sale
StylinGolfShoes is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 05:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Awsome rig.

May I suggest you, if you are not going to use two monitors, get an ATI x1900xt and save urself a whole lot of money..

Also, can you givem e a direct link to the RAM specifications?

Rest of the rig is awsome, however if you can wait till the end of the month you could probably get an Intel Conroe machine, I cant wait for example so im getting an AM2 rig .

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 07:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

Why FX-62? Terrible price/performance
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 07:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to Ov3RBliK1
Default

Awesome, but again with the CPU. Conroe. Unless you have the money right now and were planning on ordering in the next few days. Then stick with AMD.
__________________
<font size=1>
ASUS P4R800-VM / Intel P4 2.0GHz 478
ATi X800XT All-In-Wonder 256MB AGP 8x
1GB (2 x 512MB) Kingston PC3200 DDR400
Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Gamer
Western Digital 120GB + 40GB
Razer Diamondback Plasma / Ideazon ZBoard
Ov3RBliK1 is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 08:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

is that the only HD your getting?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 08:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Get that x1900xt like yoad said and atleast a amd x2 or a e6600 conroe. No less. Conroe would be better.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 08:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to Ov3RBliK1
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
is that the only HD your getting?
He might not need much space, but something to consider. If you change your choice for CPU, you could use some of the extra cash to buy another Raptor and run them in RAID. That would be nice and fast.
__________________
<font size=1>
ASUS P4R800-VM / Intel P4 2.0GHz 478
ATi X800XT All-In-Wonder 256MB AGP 8x
1GB (2 x 512MB) Kingston PC3200 DDR400
Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Gamer
Western Digital 120GB + 40GB
Razer Diamondback Plasma / Ideazon ZBoard
Ov3RBliK1 is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 08:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Default

thanks for the suggestions.
i am an amd and nvidia fan so i would like to stick to them. yes that is the only hd i will have for the time being but will soon after be purchasing a larger one for storage. in the beginning i will only have games on it anyways.

yoad here is the link to the ram: http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820227124

gurusan why do u say the fx62 has horrible performance?

any suggestions on that lcd by the way??? i know somebody out there has to have a good suggestion.
__________________

whiteflame is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.