Fatal1ty XFX 8800GTS 320MB - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2007, 08:05 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Fatal1ty XFX 8800GTS 320MB

Agreed, 8500 is really small compared to the 8800gts. 8500gt is like smaller than a 6800gs.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 08:16 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: Fatal1ty XFX 8800GTS 320MB

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny_uk View Post
you must be joking!? the 8800 is much bigger, in length AND width! i think the 8800GTS and GTX are the same size though
Yeah just bought the 320mb EVGA 8800GTS, the dimensions seemed they would fit inside my case with a ruler i measured it up, but my concern now is if the actual chip part that goes into the motherboard is in the same relative position to older cards, because now that ive got this 9" card i hope the actual golden piece at the bottom isnt any further back along the card :S

decided to try it in this case and if it doesn't fit / work ill go buy some crappy bigger one (unfortunate if i have to do that as i love the look of this case).
__________________

__________________
One day machines will rule the world.
Until that day, i'll make as much toast and re-heat as many things as i want!
HELPMEPLZ is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 02:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Fatal1ty XFX 8800GTS 320MB

Which version of the card did you buy 500mhz or the 576mhz?
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 06:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: Fatal1ty XFX 8800GTS 320MB

Quote:
Originally Posted by san21893 View Post
Which version of the card did you buy 500mhz or the 576mhz?
500MHz and will OC it manually i think, depending on how good the stock cooling on it is ^^

Really i just want to play Crysis on 1280x1024 at really good settings so do you think this'll do that?
__________________
One day machines will rule the world.
Until that day, i'll make as much toast and re-heat as many things as i want!
HELPMEPLZ is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 06:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Fatal1ty XFX 8800GTS 320MB

Quote:
Originally Posted by HELPMEPLZ View Post
500MHz and will OC it manually i think, depending on how good the stock cooling on it is ^^

Really i just want to play Crysis on 1280x1024 at really good settings so do you think this'll do that?
The 8800GTS should handle Crysis, very easily on 1280 x 1024.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 06:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Fatal1ty XFX 8800GTS 320MB

hmm what about 1680 x 1080 with q9300 @ 3.8
Max?
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 06:47 PM   #17 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Fatal1ty XFX 8800GTS 320MB

It's possible. 8800GTS should be overclocked too.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 06:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Fatal1ty XFX 8800GTS 320MB

GTS is 9" and the GTX is 12". So far i've been able to overclock my GTS to 650core and 999 memory. Pushing much past that and i start having issues with stability. On stock cooling max i have hit is 75 playing bioshock at 1920x1200 and max settings.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 07:16 PM   #19 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Fatal1ty XFX 8800GTS 320MB

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
GTS is 9" and the GTX is 12". So far i've been able to overclock my GTS to 650core and 999 memory. Pushing much past that and i start having issues with stability. On stock cooling max i have hit is 75 playing bioshock at 1920x1200 and max settings.
lol, you must have the fan at 100% 0_0

anyways, wow the GTX is 12" ? thats pretty ridiculous...

I have my GTS at currently 600/900, I've gotten to 650/1000, but now when I flash it my card starts flaking for some reason
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 12:55 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: Fatal1ty XFX 8800GTS 320MB

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
lol, you must have the fan at 100% 0_0

anyways, wow the GTX is 12" ? thats pretty ridiculous...

I have my GTS at currently 600/900, I've gotten to 650/1000, but now when I flash it my card starts flaking for some reason
cool, good to know the card will OC that high

So on max (or extreme) whatever u call it now :P will it play crysis flawlessly on 1280x1024 or do you think ill have to scale settings down a bit?
__________________

__________________
One day machines will rule the world.
Until that day, i'll make as much toast and re-heat as many things as i want!
HELPMEPLZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
430 watts for a 8800GTS 320mb Marrk New Technology and Products 13 10-01-2007 12:08 PM
Free copy of Dawn of War with the purchase of an gigabyte 8800gts 320mb veg1992 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 06-17-2007 09:09 AM
Can Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB Handle This Much Resolution mattchew13 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 06-12-2007 06:51 AM
8800GTS 320mb or 512mb 7950GT?? Raze664 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-05-2007 07:55 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.