Faster HHD ?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2010, 05:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Faster HHD ??

Speed test with new modem= 26.52 download, 3.66 upload, ping= 37ms. I bought and just set up today a new router= D-link model DIR 655. SO , that may be the fix.
__________________

acerinpa is offline  
Old 10-13-2010, 02:36 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: Faster HHD ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by acerinpa View Post
Speed test with new modem= 26.52 download, 3.66 upload, ping= 37ms. I bought and just set up today a new router= D-link model DIR 655. SO , that may be the fix.
I was having this same issue and got a new router. I was pinging at over 50ms... now it's down in the teens. It could very well be a router issue. They do give out after a while. Also if you have a lot of people online at one time in your neighborhood (as do I), during peak hours the net slows down regardless. The cable company actually throttles back your latency during these times.
__________________

__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 10-13-2010, 03:18 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Faster HHD ??

50ms ping isn't high.... It's actually rather low, dial up is ~300+, DSL is generally ~150ms, and cable is ~16-70.

Those are just the general numbers I see on battle.net from people. :-p
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-13-2010, 06:21 AM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Faster HHD ??

Ive seen people play on CoD4 with a ping of 150-200 before simply because the server was to far from them. Distance also plays a role in how much ping you have as much as peak hour throttle from your ISP. Before joining a server make sure the pings are kinda low to make up for a possible throttle sometime during gameplay.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-13-2010, 09:33 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Faster HHD ??

Y a- I only play on servers that the ping is less than 50, I do fine for a while and then the Fps seems to start moving all over the place- or did , have not had a chance to play after setting up the new modem- so it is possible i no longer have the problem.
acerinpa is offline  
Old 10-13-2010, 10:07 AM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Faster HHD ??

Well let us know as soon as you can play with the new router.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-14-2010, 07:01 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Faster HHD ??

ok played alittle anyhow- seemed great for a while with the new router - then same thing started happening but not as bad- maybe a heat problem?
acerinpa is offline  
Old 10-14-2010, 07:40 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Faster HHD ??

It could be a heat related issue, either with the router, modem, or PC, make sure the router and modem are both vented properly and are not being obstructed by paper or anything.

Run HWMonitor from cpuid.com and record the temps before the game, and while running the game, keep going till it becomes unplayable, then post the temps.

If temps check out, and your hardware is sufficient, the only possible causes are internet, or, something is running on your PC while you are in game.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-14-2010, 09:27 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Faster HHD ??

ok - thanks for the cpuid- could not remember the name of that program. I did a benchmark test, on this site, which was interesting = 39 fps, and scored 980 - what ever that means. It was low compared to many others- see the benchmark thread. But, I think many of the others have 2k-3k and UP= "uber" PC's setups.
.
acerinpa is offline  
Old 10-14-2010, 10:38 AM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Faster HHD ??

Which benchmark did you run? You have to realize alot of us have real tweaked out OCed machines made for raw performance.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Let's Get this GTX"'s Heart Beating Faster, Faster Blitersety Overclocking and Modding 2 12-15-2007 11:46 PM
"XP SP3 10% Faster than SP2 and 2x Faster Than Vista SP1" Blitersety Microsoft Windows and Software 16 11-29-2007 09:49 PM
Which one is faster? psychedelos Laptops and Notebooks 0 07-23-2007 11:45 AM
faster computer make internet faster, same connection? supernw390 Internet Software and Browsers 12 09-15-2005 09:10 AM
Faster processor make a game load faster? NanoWarrior Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 07-03-2004 04:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.