Fan Dust Covers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2008, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Fan Dust Covers

Dust has been a problem in my case, especially cuz i got alot of fans chugging in air right now. I recently fixed a computer my friend got from his uncle, and it has a very nice nzxt case, and the intake fans have dust covers, and its an older build definately (Pentium 4 3ghz, 7950gt, 1gb ddr400 ram.), but the inside of the case has no dust whatsoever, everything looks perfect still. Aside from buying a nzxt case just for dust covers, where can I buy some? couldnt find anything on the egg. Or would modding like a coffee filter on the work? Or some other kind of filter that will still allow good airflow?
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 09:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: Fan Dust Covers

Performance-PC.com

This is where all the cool accessories are at
__________________

__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 09:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Fan Dust Covers

A coffee filter is going to be REALLY restrictive. I run 10 fans on my rig, so filters are a must. I just changed out my top fans last night and they were still as clean as the day i got them. I use the fan filters that have the foam mesh in them. They work great and if they get too dirty just use the vaccuum on them.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 09:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Fan Dust Covers

I just dust out my pc weekly.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 12:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Fan Dust Covers

my lexa blackline came with dust filters, they don't work thats great though, with my next order I'm gonna pick up better ones.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 02:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default Re: Fan Dust Covers

I don't like filters. Restrict air flow to much and just look bad IMHO.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 02:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Fan Dust Covers

^depends what filters you get, some look fine and don't restrict air flow any. (my lexa has a cool looking metal one for the side panel that looks, well cool lol.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 02:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Fan Dust Covers

Quote:
Originally Posted by hickfarm View Post
I don't like filters. Restrict air flow to much and just look bad IMHO.
Look at my build pics, they look just fine and dont restrict airflow enough to matter.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 05:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Fan Dust Covers

yeah, air filters are great, i get alot of dust inmy builds, i think its because of the carpet. Dust comes up when the chairs moving around etc. so i used that cloth that u get with ur case and put it around the bottom to hopefully stop the dust from being sucked into my front intake fan.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 12:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Fan Dust Covers

I have 2 cats, dust filters are required. I peel about a pound of cathair off of the filters every day.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fans, Dust, Pressure, Flow,....Explanation? pokernod Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 05-29-2008 09:50 PM
Fan connector Readings A8N-SLI Premium Brunoboy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 04-14-2008 03:35 AM
Question regarding TT Armor 25cm side fan. manowar Overclocking and Modding 1 02-11-2008 04:05 AM
Lower Video Card noise by reducing the fan speed Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 01-01-2008 12:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.