Fan connection to motherboard - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2007, 01:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Fan connection to motherboard

I would first assume that the power switch on the back of the PSU is turned on, and that it is plugged in. Then I would think that the on button connectors are incorrectly installed.
__________________

QuaziBee is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 01:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Fan connection to motherboard

Remember red is hot and black is ground.
__________________

QuaziBee is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 01:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 96
Default Re: Fan connection to motherboard

I had the power switch in back to front, but now it turns on and off instantly... is this harming my computer? Do i need anything apart from the power switch connecter plugged in for it to power up?
Uberg is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 01:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Fan connection to motherboard

Hmm, the only time that happened to me was when I forgot the put the little wire under the motherboard, basically I was like 12 and did put the motherboard directly on the case. It shorted up the mobo / cpu / ram / video card.

Usually if it's not a wire issue and if the comp DOES boot up and just nothing happens, it sounds like some sort of mobo issue.
Valhera is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 01:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 96
Default Re: Fan connection to motherboard

Ok, sometimes it turns on for about 5 seconds or so, then everything just gives up.
Uberg is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 01:41 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Fan connection to motherboard

Do you see anything at all on your screen ? Any beeps ? Or just the fans running for 5 secondes and the whole thing shutting down ?
Valhera is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 03:41 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 96
Default Re: Fan connection to motherboard

OK I'm all up and running!

But to turn it on i need to press the on switch two or three times to kind of 'rev up' the computer. If i just press it once it just kinda gives up after a second.

Why is this?
Uberg is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 04:20 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Fan connection to motherboard

Sounds like some sort of power issue. Might be your power supply at that point, do you have some sort of high-end system ?
Valhera is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 07:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 96
Default Re: Fan connection to motherboard

My system is fairly average for todays computers i believe. I have:

Core 2 Duo e6320
2gb of pc2-5300
geforce 7600gs
and a gigabyte motherboard i forgot the name of.

The system starts every time now, with no "warm up" necessary, but the hard drive is incredibly loud compared to the previous motherboard it was plugged into. Why is this? I mean it is VERY loud, it gives a really CHUG CHUG CHUG when loading
Uberg is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 10:13 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
djg320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to djg320
Default Re: Fan connection to motherboard

The hard drive may possibly be going bad, usually HDD's will get louder when they track as they go bad.

It is also possible your previous mobo had acoustic management, limiting the tracking/spindle speed to quiet it.

EDIT: Also just remembered, case configuration can make a huge difference in the acoustics of everything, maybe it's that?
__________________

__________________
"Hmm, I wonder..." *apt-get install Ferrari* "Error: Dependency not met, package 'Money' not installed." "Gah!" *apt-cache search job*
P4 2.8 ghz, 768 megs of ram, 120gb SATAI hdd, 19" Samsung Syncmaster LCD, EVGA Nvidia 6200 OCed.
TC Clan/Forums Community CS:S server status.
djg320 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
it wasnt the motherboard!!!!! pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-03-2007 01:02 AM
Which motherboard? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-02-2007 11:00 AM
Internet Connection Problem, Every room has connection except mine foskey Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 05-24-2007 12:36 AM
problem on internet connection sharing franzeed Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 05-10-2007 05:20 PM
Routing Outgoing SMTP traffic through a secondary broadband connection. geezgeez Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 04-19-2007 07:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.