Fan on 9800pro busted - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2006, 05:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default Fan on 9800pro busted

Ever since I moved my old rig to a new case the whole thing just started to fall apart...well, the fan wouldnt even move. I was thinking of getting an artic cooling silencer off newegg.http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835186110
There's some reviews saying that this killed their video card, but it looks like a good cooler at an awesome price.
Suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 05:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default

Pay a bloke down the pub a tenner and get a new 9800pro :P. Or better yet, pay me a fiver and I'll give you my old one :P.
__________________

Nishido is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 08:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Warranties, or you can post some pictures of the fan, behind the fan, and perhaps I can help you out, I've become somewhat of a coneisseur of broken fans I've had my experiances with them and I've learned to fix them.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 09:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Don't worry about the fan, the 9800 doesn't even need one. And while your at it, just take all the fans out of your PC. They are just noisy and use too much power.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 09:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Sweet fan, I was thinking about getting it myself. But I have no need.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 10:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
And while your at it, just take all the fans out of your PC. They are just noisy and use too much power.


Never!

I need my nine fans.. NEED them I say, what would I do without my beautiful deltas? is it even possible to live in such a state!?
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 10:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

no, you don't need fans... Just take them all out of your PC you'll be fine. While your at it, take off the HS&FAN from your CPU you don't really need that either.... It's all Marketing hoopla to get you to buy more components...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 11:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
no, you don't need fans... Just take them all out of your PC you'll be fine. While your at it, take off the HS&FAN from your CPU you don't really need that either.... It's all Marketing hoopla to get you to buy more components...
While you're at it, why not just poor a can of Coke onto your mobo. Short circuiting is just an urban legend.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 12:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

zip tie a a 70mm fan to the card, that ought to do the trick.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 12:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
zip tie a a 70mm fan to the card, that ought to do the trick.
LOL. 2 of my co-workers actually did that. We had a FX5500 that lost its fan and heatsink (dont know how though). So they took this old Pentium 1 90Mhz rated heatsink and a 50mm(something like that) fan and zip tied them to the card.

Pic are at my co-workers site.
http://www.flushm.com/news/2006_03_12_news1.jpg
http://www.flushm.com/news/2006_03_12_news2.jpg
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.