Family PC Build, Rate Plz - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2006, 10:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

I guess that is fine..
__________________

__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 10:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

yes............thank you.



Anyone else!
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 12:57 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

If your not overclocking, you can save some money and not get OCZ ram and DFI board... other boards and ram will work great if your not overcloacking and I assume your not since this is your first build.
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 01:10 AM   #14 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

But he is overclocking.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 01:11 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Well the title Family PC is a bit misleading, gaming PC is more like it. Everything looks nice, you're overclocking right? Thats the key reason to get that processor and that ram, if youre not overclocking get an athlon and valuselect ram. Other then that everything is great. Personally the only thing I would change is get a crappier card (7800gt), and then save the extra to upgrade to a better mid ranged card in a year or two. Thats just what I do though, if you want that video card its great. I also never buy the OC versions of video cards since you can just overclock it yourself, again thats personal preference.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 01:12 AM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

how many times must i say im overclocking........i no wat those parts are for, and what im going to do with them, im just getting a check on compatibily, bottlenecking, etc. 003 you always have something constructive to say, any thoughts on this rig? its not final, will not be for a while and ill constantly be making changes, but i just wanna get a good idea of what im going to be doing. I would also like to have a discussion with you about OCing there are a lot of stuff i still dont understand and i need clarified. If you have msn, PM me ur address, if not just PM me, and we'll talk through there if thats ok with you.
john3 is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 01:16 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

One little thing of advice if it's your first PC, be careful about thermal paste. I put too much on the first time I did a build and had to redo it, get as little of it on as possible, metal on metal would be optimal but thats not possible.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 01:41 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

i read just the size of a grain of rice is enough.
im going to like test it once on a piece of paper see how much comes out. then i will perfect the grain of rice size, and afterwards i will put it on the cpu. JUST SO I GET THIS RIGHT.

I put a dab of the paste, about the size of a grain of rice, on the middle of the CPU's back, then attach the heatsink to it, and it will spread it by it self. and thats it right?
john3 is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 01:49 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

That will work, another thing that is usually done if you put thermal paste on the heatsink first, then wipe it all off with a lint free cloth (coffe filter) then do the dab on the cpu. Doing that helps make sure there are less gaps in the contact. There's a lot of extra crap you can do, but don't worry about it since it's your first build (sandpaper stuff can be done, IHS mod (DO NOT ATTEMPT), various spreading techniques). Also make sure you have good ESD (electro static discharge) prevention.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 01:54 AM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

wats that? ESD? and Can u show me something about it?
__________________

john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.