Extra psu for ground during build. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2011, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 29
Default Extra psu for ground during build.

I have this extra psu 300-400 watts i got from a garage sale a while back for no specific reason. I am wondering if i can plug it in with my anti static wrist strap attached to one of the mounting brackets on it to remain grounded while doing work inside my pc.

I think this would work except i am worried about the the fact i have no idea what its history is and if it were a bad psu could grounding myself to it somhow be dangerous. (has no on/off switch)

Also the both the Psu and the computer case i will be working in is coated in black paint, hence the 2nd psu because its exposed metal. Sadly i have no wooden areas to be working on so i will be standing on lanolium and working on a glass table.

Edit: i found an old 700W that fried a while back with a switch, i think the ground would still work fine because it dident pop or fix untill it was powered on via the old computer.

Thx for the help!

oogee is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 05:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
patonb's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,737
Default Re: Extra psu for ground during build.

Thats alot of extra work..... I've never gone that far, let alone even a wrist strap.

Just enbsure to touch metal every so often while building.

Foldie = i7 950@ 4.0Ghz Gigabyte x58a-ud3r EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 3x2gb OCZ Gold Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 05:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
Night Fox's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Extra psu for ground during build.

Lol all I did was take a long wire I found in my garage (like 50ft or something) and attach one end to the pipe under my sink, then stick the other end in the side of my pants like a pedometer..
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 06:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Extra psu for ground during build.

I never use a wrist strap...pretty much all of my building has been done laying down on soft carpet, I just keep the boards off the carpet by setting them on their boxes/anti-static bags. If I feel like I have a lot of static I touch an outlet (the screw holding outlet faceplates on is ground) or the case of my PC (must be plugged in with PSU mounted for this to work).

The ground on a PSU is connected to the metal PSU case which is in turn connected to the PC case by the metal mounting screws. It is all one big ground when plugged in, touch it and it will ground any static off of your hands so you can touch parts without fear of frying them. I usually don't bother and haven't ruined anything yet (a few major builds plus a lot of cleaning, repairs, replacements, etc).

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 10:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 29
Default Re: Extra psu for ground during build.

Thanks for the tips guys, but i ended up working on the kitchen table in my 100%Cotton boxers attached to the power supply via the wrist strap while occasionally touching the ground on my wall outlet to be safe.

Back hurts, but i felt intimate with my pc.
oogee is offline  
Old 04-13-2011, 11:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
GhOsT1321's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: Extra psu for ground during build.

Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
If I feel like I have a lot of static I touch an outlet (the screw holding outlet faceplates on is ground)
Make sure that there isnt a wire plugged into the outlet that is drawing current if you do this. Otherwise, a small blue bolt may jump out of the wire and hit your hand, causing a bit of pain.

Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build a laptop from ground up? dwboucher Laptops and Notebooks 2 10-02-2010 08:39 AM
Chrome Plus Is A Custom Chrome Build With Extra Functionality Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 1 08-29-2009 11:28 AM
extra extra get your geforce 8600's TheEnd187 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-17-2007 02:15 AM
ground yourself thebattosai System Upgrades 8 12-18-2006 08:42 AM
Can someone build a laptop from ground up? Juice Daddy New Systems | Building and Buying 11 09-04-2005 03:59 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.