Extensive PC damage? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 05:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default Extensive PC damage?

Sorry to bother, but I need help,

This morning saw the death of my motherboard and CPU as it looks, I'm not sure if any additional parts were damaged. It happened when I was removing some cold cathode lights. When I turned the PC back on, it acted normal except i got no display from the graphics card. I turned it off, and that was the last time it turned on. Instead, the fans just wiggled a bit when I pressed the power switch. So I reseated the HSF on the CPU, and now I don't get any response at all when I press the power button on my PC.

I have 2 questions, first, how extensive do you think the damage to my parts is? I've stripped everything down to barebones to troubleshoot, and didn't get anywhere. Do you think this is just a mobo/CPU problem, or could it have taken other parts such as my graphics card and RAM with it? Please give me your opinions on this so I know what I can prepare to order.

Second, what motherboard and CPU should I get to start with? I am going to start at these two parts then replace more if I need to. I'm hoping that just replacing the motherboard and CPU will do the trick.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131517

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562

I don't care about overclocking, i just want a system that runs well for gaming. Give me suggestions on parts if you would.

Thanks for any replies....
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Or...should I go with an Opteron 165

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103588
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

dfi ultrad and opty 156
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Thanks, im leaning towards those now, how likely is it that the rest of my components are damaged though?
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I'm not sure, you probably killed something with static eletricity. (in which case it's probably not the cpu)
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Why dont you test the ram in the computer you are using now?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Its a P3 which uses SDR....its not a possibility. I am going to start by just ordering the CPU/Mobo and replace additional parts if necessary. Newegg is fast.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

why dont you get a MSI board instead of the DFI since your not going ot overclock and MSI is cheaper. same with the opty 165, get the cheaper of the two since if your not going to oc theres no point in getting an opty unless you like the extra cache on it.
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Running
why dont you get a MSI board instead of the DFI since your not going ot overclock and MSI is cheaper. same with the opty 165, get the cheaper of the two since if your not going to oc theres no point in getting an opty unless you like the extra cache on it.
The extra cache is the selling point on it to me, and I will mildly OC it since I'm getting an Opteron.

I don't think it was static electricity that fried my mobo, i think it was a short when I plugged a 12v connector into the PCI-Express power slot on my Abit mobo. Not sure though. I called a local PC repair shop and explained my situation and he said there was basically no hope.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

that makes sense, but if you want to save some money get the MSI board since it can do some mild oc'ing. but DFI is good. i guess if you ever wanted to tweak your system DFI's bios would give you all the options you need
__________________

__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.