Expensive PC but Awful 3dMark Score... Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2006, 12:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to doublebassdanny
Red face Expensive PC but Awful 3dMark Score... Help!

Hey all! So I just got a fairly expensive PC (look in my signature for the specs). I ran 3dMark 2005 and got a score of... 263... that's right... 263. I can crank Half Life 2 out on full graphics but I want to future proof my PC (haha yeah I know, that's impossible!) to play games that will be coming out and rival the processing needs of 3D Mark 2005... I have suspicions that this may be due to my video card, a cheap little 5500 FX. But I've got 3 gigs of RAM running in Dual Channel and expected to get a much better score than this. Any help? Thanks!
__________________

doublebassdanny is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Well, for one your processor plain sucks. And second, your graphics card sucks even worse. 3dMark05 is completely dependent on the graphics card. The FX 5500 is pretty much just a step above integrated graphics, so I wouldn't expect you to get much with that card. There wont be much future-proofing with that card, you HAVE to have at least a 6800GS.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default

werd.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

WTF did u buy 3 gigs of PC2700 RAM for. Your rig looks just plain retarded IMO. Sorry.

I would agree with beedubaya, if you want a higher score (and don't want to trash your whole system and start over which you probably should) get a new vid card.
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

His sig says 3gb. Why would you need 3gb?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Hes probably a noob who thinks more RAM makes it faster and doesn't realize the video card is the heart and soul of the PC and everything else just provides re-inforcements for it. I know I used to think the same way.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Seems like everything would be trying to play catch up.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

Ya I change my vote to definately try to sell off that peice of crap and start over. You would be soooo much better off if you went through these forums and got help picking out a system piece by piece.

bradybnmci your sig still creeps me out
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

I'm almost afraid to ask...How much did you pay for that, and when did you get it?
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to doublebassdanny
Default

FYI... this PC was given to me from my workplace. I wanted to know what to improve to change it. But thanks anyway...

(dammn)
__________________

doublebassdanny is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.