Expensive build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2010, 05:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Default Expensive build

Hi all


I want to get a high end gaming computer and ALMOST bought an alienware system. I didnt in the end and instead decided to build my first computer! I am a new to this so please bare with me...

I have been researching components and think the below system will be pretty good. Comments would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

S

Computer cost = 1,000 / $1,550
Monitor cost = 215 / $330
TOTAL COST = 1,215 / $1,880


Motherboard: Asus Rampage III (scan.co.uk link)
CPU: Intel CPU i7 930 Quad Core (scan.co.uk link)
CPU cooler: Prolimatech Intel Copper CPU Cooler (scan.co.uk link)
Fan for cooler: Coolermaster SickleFLow Red LED Quiet Case Fan 120mm (scan.co.uk link)
Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair (scan.co.uk link)
Graphics card: Geforce GTX470 (scan.co.uk link)
PSU: Antec HCG-750 High Current Gamer 750W (scan.co.uk link)
Optical Drive: Sony DVD ROM DDU1681S-0B (scan.co.uk link)
Hard disk drive: 1TB Hitachi Deskstar 7K2000 (scan.co.uk link)
Case: Coolermaster HAF 912 (scan.co.uk link)
OS: Windows 7 (scan.co.uk link)
Monitor: LG W2486L 24-inch Wide LED LCD TFT Monitor (amazon.co.uk link)
__________________

Masked Magician is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 07:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Expensive build

Nice build, and welcome to the forum.

Firstly, watchout, Asus boards are sometimes encountering ram issues... Some are only seeing 4Gigs, and also I've read they can be very picky about the kind.

Double check its on their list.

Don't know much about the cooler, but the rest looks okay.
This set of ram Scan.co.uk: Corsair Memory XMS3 Classic 6GB DDR3 1600 Mhz CAS 8 Triple Channel Desktop - TR3X6G1600C8 has better timings but are a bit more pricey.

I'll let someone else triple check it though.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 07:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
J9Darkwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: Expensive build

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Firstly, watchout, Asus boards are sometimes encountering ram issues... Some are only seeing 4Gigs, and also I've read they can be very picky about the kind.

Double check its on their list.
I'm on my fifth gaming computer using Asus motherboards and I would certainly advise you to check the QVL on the Asus website before purchasing ram. Picky indeed.
__________________
~~~~~~~Salute!~~~~~~~ Darkwing
www.nightowlremote.com
J9Darkwing is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 07:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 92
Default Re: Expensive build

You could probably save a little money and not get a quad core processor. I dont believe games take advantage of quad core yet.
WhiteFlare is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 08:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Expensive build

Technically hes getting an 8 core setup.

Games are actually starting to become multi-threaded and so any quad is desirable... the i7 1366s are the cats meow of chips, and hopefully they will retain some futureness to them.

The new sandy bridges are using 1366 so thats a good thing.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 11:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
zandre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 241
Default Re: Expensive build

Well it seems like you're willing to spend the money to get a really nice build. I just recently built myself a computer and it was expensive also. I was lucky enough to get a little extra money so I went ahead and spent the extra money on my new computer. One thing I'd consider adding although it can be pricey is an SSD. I had never had an SSD before this computer and I must say it is pretty awesome to have one. I got a larger one so I can keep my Operating System (Windows), Programs, and Games all on it. Although you could get one that is smaller and just keep the operating system on it. That is what a lot of people choose to do. It just makes the OS much faster than it would be on a normal HDD.

Anyways I am still a pretty much a new person to building computers so the experts can better advise you. Maybe they can give you a little more information on an SSD.

Good luck with the build!
zandre88 is offline  
Old 12-03-2010, 09:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Expensive build

Guys thanks for the feedback I found it extremely useful and have made the folliwng revisions.

patonb & J9Darkwing,

I fully take on board your comments about my choice of RAM, it turns out I had an incompatible sort in the spec. The new RAM below is fully compatible with the motherboard and I believe it is good kit as well, patonb I believe the RAM you suggested was incompatible please correct me if I am wrong about that. Also the CPU cooler is a very good one according to reviews...

zandre88,

I accept a SSD would indeed be cool but I dont want to blow the bank too much in one swoop! I may consider this as an upgrade later although I suspect once the system is built and running I will find the HDD more than satisfactory.

Could you guys have another look at the new spec? Any comments or suggestions will be greatly appreciated and considered.

Thanks

S



Computer cost = 1,045 (or $1,630)
Monitor cost = 210 (or $330)
Total cost = 1,255 (or $1,960)


Masked Magician is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 01:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Expensive build

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Technically hes getting an 8 core setup.

Games are actually starting to become multi-threaded and so any quad is desirable... the i7 1366s are the cats meow of chips, and hopefully they will retain some futureness to them.

The new sandy bridges are using 1366 so thats a good thing.
I thought Sandy Bridges was supposed to be 1155 socket.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 02:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Expensive build

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
I thought Sandy Bridges was supposed to be 1155 socket.
Yup. All of the initial Sandy Bridge parts will use the mew lga1155 socket while the high end chips will use the lga2011 socket.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 02:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Expensive build

^You seem to be right, I, for some reason, thought they were coming out as 1366..... but it seems that if you don't read fully, you get bad info.

I think itrs how they word it as the successor to the i7s, as it'll be the same performance as 1366.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why is this HDD so expensive? Sean W. Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 17 07-08-2010 08:01 PM
Why is some ram so much more expensive? Akoto System Upgrades 5 06-10-2007 02:45 AM
In-expensive rig LU4sTrooper System Upgrades 3 02-20-2007 10:36 AM
Expensive Build, need help addy_010 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-17-2006 12:25 PM
Do I really need that expensive ram? Saint71 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 11-17-2005 04:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.