Expected Speeds? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2006, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to MattBCHS15
Lightbulb Expected Speeds on 3700+

Alright working on my first build and was just wondering what kind of speeds i could expect by overclocking.

Here's my comp. specs:
CPU: AMD 3700 San Diego
Mobo: DFI Ultra-D
RAM: OCZ 3200 Platinum Rev.2
Graphics: Leadtek 6800GS
PSU: OCZ Powerstream 520W
HD: WD Caviar 250GB

Also i'd like to know what i could get with Stock Cooling and Non-Stock.
__________________

MattBCHS15 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

on stock cooling ive gotten my 3700+ sandy up to 2.8ghz on 5.25v @ 55¬ļC at full load on a motherboard not designed for major overclocking. you'll probably get better results with your mobo and PSU.
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 90
Default

molsen, do you think my dfi could overclock a 3700 to 2.8 with stock?
juststarting123 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 02:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

yeah ... proolly
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 06:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to MattBCHS15
Default

Anybody else with details on their 3700 overclocks?
MattBCHS15 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

My old 3700+ only did 2.7GHz, at 1.6v with an aftermarket cooler. I would get an opteron 146 or 148, or better yet, wait for the new CPU's from intel.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.