Excess VRAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2008, 10:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Excess VRAM?

So I was looking at video cards on newegg and some seem to add extra ram to the normal amount. For instance:

Newegg.com - PALiT NE/960TSX0202 GeForce 9600GT 1GB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics

A few people have told me that its excess because its only 256-bit. Is it worth the extra 30 or so dollars you would pay over the other cards? What kind of improvment would it give and assuming there is some what circumstances would you need to take advantage of it?
__________________

Dakaggo is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 10:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,513
Default Re: Excess VRAM?

It'll really only give you a benefit if you run at crazy-high resolutions.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 04-08-2008, 11:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Excess VRAM?

So the insane people with 24" monitors?

How big of a difference do you think it would be at a high resolution?

Say this same card playing on 1024 x 768 and on 2048 x 1536. What would be approximate differences in detail and fps? Say on CoD4.
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 04:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Excess VRAM?

probably the same considering there is so much ram the rest of the compy will be the botle neck.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 04:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Excess VRAM?

that 256bit Interface caps it... A LOT!!

actually cards like this would get outperformed by the one with less RAM at lower resolutions without AA/AF
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 08:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Excess VRAM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
that 256bit Interface caps it... A LOT!!

actually cards like this would get outperformed by the one with less RAM at lower resolutions without AA/AF
Its really confusing when you get into stuff like interface and memory size and clock rate and all that stuff. No wonder why people don't think to buy their own anything.
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 09:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Excess VRAM?

ya it does, but

Palit Geforce 8800GT Super+ 1GB Videocard Review - PCSTATS.com

here are those benchmarks of the 1gb 8800gt < 8800gt 512mb

but I think the same would go for a 9600gt
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lots of excess stuff on my right click menu king vash Microsoft Windows and Software 5 04-29-2007 10:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.