EVGA 6600GT Dual DVI Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2005, 07:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 66
Default EVGA 6600GT Dual DVI Question

Evga e-GeForce 6600GT 128 MB HDTV PCI-E Graphics Card (Dual DVI)

I am thinking about purchasing this card for my Dell Optiplex 620 to support two DVI monitors. The computer currently has a PCI-E 16x card in the slot which I will remove to make room for this one. My question is, other that slotting in the card, what else do I need? Does this card require a connection to the Power Supply Unit? If so, how much power does it need? This is a work computer, so other than the Video Card, I dont want to change up any other components.

Thanks
Steve
__________________

uthscsa19 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 08:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

it needs a connection to your power supply. and your power supply should be 350W+. and should be a brand name.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 10:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 66
Default

Its a Dell, its not a brand name PSU. It is a 305W PSU however. What type of connection from the PSU is required? Is this connection always found on computers? Does anyone have a pic of the connection so I can go into the computer to see if I have a free connector.

Thanks
uthscsa19 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 66
Default

Well I did abit of research and some reviews said that this PCI-E card does not need an extra power connection but gets all of its power from the PCI slot itself. I am abit confused by some people saying it does and some that say it doesnt. Anyone have the answer to why this is or what is the correct answer? I dont want to buy the card not knowing if I have the appropriate connection for it.

Thanks
uthscsa19 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

that are low powered cheap cards i will post a pic of the conection in a second.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 66
Default

The 6600GT is a cheap card? I thought it was a well regarded video card? It may not be the best card to play the best games, but this is a video card for work purposes, why wouldnt it be good enough for that?
uthscsa19 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

it is the black/brown thing at the very bottom i will try post a better pic
http://images10.newegg.com/NeweggIma...130-220-02.JPG
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uthscsa19
The 6600GT is a cheap card? I thought it was a well regarded video card? It may not be the best card to play the best games, but this is a video card for work purposes, why wouldnt it be good enough for that?
i am talking about real cheap cards
$50 cards and such like this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130198
no power needed
the 6600gt is a good card
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by matt2m
i am talking about real cheap cards
$50 cards and such like this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130198
no power needed
the 6600gt is a good card
Oh okay, well the review I read was over the 6600GT card and it said that it didnt use another plug. It was an old review however. I just want to be sure I have the right plug coming out of my power supply before I go ahead with the purchase. Do most PSU have extra plugs like these available?
uthscsa19 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 06:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 66
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowIm...d%20-%20Retail

I dont see that plug in this pic of the 6600GT Dual DVI. Is this the wrong pic of the card that new egg has?
__________________

uthscsa19 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.