Equal sized drives for RAID 0? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2008, 10:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 62
Default Equal sized drives for RAID 0?

I've got a Gateway P-7811FX laptop with a 200gig HD in it, and am thinking of adding another HD to run in RAID 0. My question is:

Do my 2 drives have to be the same size (200gig in my case) in order to run in RAID 0?

SubGum is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 01:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Tenenbaum's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 359
Send a message via MSN to Tenenbaum
Default Re: Equal sized drives for RAID 0?

It's best to use the exact same hard drive for pretty much all raid setups.

But you can use whatever you want, two different drivers, different sizes.
If one hard drive is 300GB and the other is 200GB, you will lose 100GB off the 300GB for a Raid 0 Setup.

I'd wait for another answer, as I could be wrong.

Tenenbaum is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 01:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
mikesgroovin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Equal sized drives for RAID 0?

In short... No, they don't have to be the same size.
You would be limited to double the size of the smaller drive though for raid0

So, if you added a 100GB drive to the already existing 200GB you would have 200GB worth of total space rather than 300GB.
In my opinion, I dont know that it would be worth the risk.. you essentially are going to be running 2 drives and doubling the changes of a minor/major hardware failure. This may or may not end up in data loss... but it would most certainly take time to recover data. And you would be gaining speed during prolonged reads and writes... not necessarily initial file accessing times. That will, in most cases, take longer for 2 drives than just the single 200GB. But for reads and writes that take a long time... it would be faster, sure.

Increased reads over long time transfers
Increased writes over long time transfers

2x the hardware ware/tear risk
Slower access times than that of one disk... (this isn't read time... just the time it takes to FIND things on the array)
Limited to 2x the space of the lower capacity drive

On that laptop, I may try it for a while but would most likely go back to a single drive or mirror.

EDIT: @ Tenenbaum: no, you're absolutely right...in your scenario SubGum would have 400GB total
I'm slower at typing than you though, clearly...

2nd edit: SubGum, just checked your drive... it's a 7200 (in case you didn't know) I also found something about upgrading your BIOS on that model... but, you may want to look into it, I didn't because it's long and I'm sleepy. Sorry...
Here's the link though The Official P-7811FX BIOS Version 9C.08.00 Download Is Here - Now with RAID! - Notebook Forums and Laptop Discussion
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 05:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
baron5's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Equal sized drives for RAID 0?

is it possible to have a partitioned raid0? 400gb for the raid 0 partition and 100gb separate?
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito

baron5 is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 06:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Hefemeister's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Equal sized drives for RAID 0?

You can partition the raid array but it has to be inside the array. ie 400gb raid 0 with a 100gb partition and a 300gb partition.
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 07:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,799
Default Re: Equal sized drives for RAID 0?

Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
is it possible to have a partitioned raid0? 400gb for the raid 0 partition and 100gb separate?
You mean in the situation where you have 1 200GB disk and 1 300GB disk could you use RAID 0 to give you 400GB and then get the 100GB drive waste as usable space? I have never had to do this myself but I understand it is possible whether you can do it or not depends on the controller. Also you would not partition it like this yourself it would appear to the OS as two seperate disks.

There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 11:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 62
Talking Re: Equal sized drives for RAID 0?

Whoa, thanks for looking so much into my specs, mikesgroovin. I was actually wanted to buy another 320gig 7200rmp, and wanted to run RAID 0 (more so because I wanted to learn more about it through experience than actually get any performance benefits from it).

I guess it wouldn't even be worth it unless I were to buy 2 320's and replace the 200 I have, or add just another 200. Maybe I'll just throw the 320 in and run it old skool style as a seperate drive then.

Thanks for all the info though. I've never messed around with RAID 0 so it's good to learn from you all.

SubGum is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help with cd drives memory Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 09-10-2008 03:38 PM
Serious Problem Concerning CD/DVD Drives digital_ninja2k Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-05-2008 12:42 AM
Ultra ATA/133 card not showing Optical drives in BIOS Rastafari Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-02-2008 11:46 AM
BIOS stopped detecting hard drives YoBagonGo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-04-2007 10:42 PM
New Western Digital Drives For AV Products maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-09-2007 01:14 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.