Electrical tape on memory? Damage? Safe? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2007, 08:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Electrical tape on memory? Damage? Safe?

Im getting tracers, I really like the "ambient" blue glow effect , But im not sure that i digg the green red on top. could i just throw some black electrical tape over top to cover it? I mean, will they get that hot that they are going to melt the tape? Or any other ideas? I mean, Who knows i might love um. But , I might not
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 08:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Electrical tape on memory? Damage? Safe?

I think it's ok. RAM doesn't get that hot anyway. Even if it's overclocked. But note, that it might get sticky, should you decide to remove it after a long time.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 09:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: Electrical tape on memory? Damage? Safe?

get i would figure some high purity ispourinol ( WAYYYY SP!) achol to get it off.. and a lint free cloth..... haha ^^ Green tea messing with my brain!
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 09:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Electrical tape on memory? Damage? Safe?

It should be ok.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
Problems with Memory affecting SATA drive? DJUDX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 11-30-2007 06:33 PM
Adding Memory? u4ic_fln System Upgrades 25 11-10-2007 01:58 PM
Bad Memory Captain Murphy Overclocking and Modding 2 11-06-2007 09:39 PM
My Safe (Protector Suite) won't work anymore Shade 20x6 Laptops and Notebooks 2 08-24-2007 09:44 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.