eight core, Quad SLI =O, quad sli is back - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2007, 05:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default eight core, Quad SLI =O, quad sli is back



Quote:
The game was demonstrated with the code using all eight cores and four Geforce 8800 Ultra graphics cards.
source
First eight core, Quad SLI game demonstrated
__________________

TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 07:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: eight core, Quad SLI =O, quad sli is back

i wonder what the 3dmark06 is
its from the inquirer
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 01:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: eight core, Quad SLI =O, quad sli is back

meh, ive learn not to trust that site.

i get an avg. or 70FPS on the Lost Planet Performance test. and i've only got 1 video card.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 01:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: eight core, Quad SLI =O, quad sli is back

the FPS was locked at 60 FPS, I don't see why it would be using almost 25% of each core though. Lost Planet isn't even that great a game, graphics and gameplay-wise
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 01:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: eight core, Quad SLI =O, quad sli is back

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
meh, ive learn not to trust that site.

i get an avg. or 70FPS on the Lost Planet Performance test. and i've only got 1 video card.
70 fps at what resolution?

Resolution, every tiny details will affect the fps. If you have it running at exactly the same specs then I find that hard to believe that your GPU is giving you 70 fps while the Quad SLI is only giving it 70 fps.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 02:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: eight core, Quad SLI =O, quad sli is back

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
70 fps at what resolution?

Resolution, every tiny details will affect the fps. If you have it running at exactly the same specs then I find that hard to believe that your GPU is giving you 70 fps while the Quad SLI is only giving it 70 fps.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merkwürdigliebe View Post
the FPS was locked at 60 FPS, I don't see why it would be using almost 25% of each core though. Lost Planet isn't even that great a game, graphics and gameplay-wise
Quoting my own words. If it wasn't locked, you would've probably seen 300+ fps, if not more. FPS locking is to minimize power consumption, because the human eye will have a hard time seeing a difference beyond 60 FPS, although picky people can go up to 80fps before they can't tell the difference. Besides, as far as what your eye is seeing, it's always constrained by the reresh rate really, and at max resolutions, most monitors only offer 60Hz or 75Hz.
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 02:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: eight core, Quad SLI =O, quad sli is back

agh...i was just reading this and was about to post it.

But yea, overkill much?? id rather have a quad core phenom and 2 ultras in SLI.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 02:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: eight core, Quad SLI =O, quad sli is back

Yea, if Vsync was turned off, we'd be seeing A LOT more FPS then 60fps.

With two quad cores running @ 3.4ghz per core, 4 8800 ultra's in quad SLI, and a game that's coded to take use of all that, pretty much any game is going to run good at any higher resolution.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 04:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: eight core, Quad SLI =O, quad sli is back

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmammen View Post
agh...i was just reading this and was about to post it.

But yea, overkill much?? id rather have a quad core phenom and 2 ultras in SLI.
intel quad extreme > phenom quad
my estimate, but we'll see i suppose
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 04:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: eight core, Quad SLI =O, quad sli is back

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
intel quad extreme > phenom quad
my estimate, but we'll see i suppose
haha...we will see
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
Core 2 Duo Vs. Core 2 Quad massacreinfallx New Systems | Building and Buying 13 09-15-2007 03:27 PM
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 03:45 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Question about quad core.. PanzerKammander New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-08-2007 12:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.