on the edge~

Status
Not open for further replies.

angevin

Solid State Member
Hi all! Yes, newbie here, Good News:: I can read! thanks for the Stickies!

Bad news: I cannot find any truly helpful info regarding this dilemma:

I am about to either upgrade my present Q6600 or build a new unit. Either way, I'd like to go SSD. I have my Main Drive 'C' as cleaned up as I can figure out how to do, yet I still have about 206GB used territory. I have already told programs such as Lightroom2 and Adobe production prem, etc to go to one of my other drives with the cache stuff.

If I cannot get this data under control, it seems useless to go SSD.

My application: I am a photographer and a videographer, I have large files and plenty of internal and external storage capability of the 7200 variety: >3 TB
I run these programs often:
After Effects
Lightroom2
Premiere pro
Soundbooth

I tend to generate files about 50-100GB per render of video and 5-10MB per photo~

So questions:

1. How is the best way to go about minimizing my main drive's space?
_1a. Or how is the best way to go about using SSD (s)?

2. SSD's: is Running a RAID 0 a bad idea? I understand it inherently has no Backup, or should I consider a RAID 5?

Any links to aid me are appreciated, as is commentary. the AndtechSSD article was very decently written and aided me greatly....My ignorance leading me here to ask about this data thing. So, please fire away !

Thanks in advance!

1. don't quite understand your question.

1a. best way of using an ssd is probably to use it as your OS drive, and/ or your programs drive w/ separate hdds for data storage.

2. you shouldn't run ssd's in a raid 0 array because they will not operate with TRIM on and you want to have TRIM enabled when running an ssd.

1. don't quite understand your question.

1a. best way of using an ssd is probably to use it as your OS drive, and/ or your programs drive w/ separate hdds for data storage.