ECS KN1 Extreme CHECKSUM ERRORS!!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2006, 07:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Arrow ECS KN1 Extreme CHECKSUM ERRORS!!!!!

Someone please HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!

I ordered the CPU/Mobotehrboard combo deal from newegg which is an ECS KN1 Extreme and AMD Athlon 3400+, I got everything hooked up and a got an error saying
"CMOS Checksum error -Defaults Loaded
Please re-settings the CPU frequency in setup"


Anyway I changed the frequency fixed all the regular BIOS options (date,time, startup order, ect.). Restarted with no error but I gotthe option of either pressing F1 to continue or go to safe mode, I continued only to see a blue screen flash fast and then reboot, it does this EVERY SINGLE TIME, safe mode also. Ive tried everything I know of, I concluded the motherboard was faulty but is it just what Im using?

With the CPU and motherboard I had a,

eVGA Geforce 7600gt 256MB PCIe
x1 512MB Crucial Technology memory stick
x1 256MB Crucial Technology memory stick
(I started up with only 1 stick in)
Linksys fast ethernet adapter 10/100/1000 MB
Western Digital 120GB HDD
and my Dvd and cdrom

I ran memtest and so far no errors so it must be good (im using it in this machine right now). Someone said to load failsafe defaults but I never did find "Load Failsafe settings" in the Pheonix Bios settings I saw Load Optimized Defaults and load Standard defaults, i also reset the bios a couple times with the same error.

btw, should I go ahead and send away for a replacement or get http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138248
I dont want to wait another week for it and have the same **** problem, someone please help!

cheers

shifty
__________________

shifty2991 is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 07:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Clear your CMOS, Reboot.
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 07:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Default

Did, multiple times
shifty2991 is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 07:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Default

sorry the correctlink for the other mothboard is http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138248



any other help...someone...please
shifty2991 is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 08:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Have you tried replacing the cmos battery? It's just a 2032 battery, costs $3 anywhere.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 09:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Default

the thing is I shouldnt have to its brand new ordered, anyways I sent it back for a replacment
__________________

shifty2991 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.