Economical and proactive thinking for a new PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2005, 08:56 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 58
Default

Its the Athlon 64 FX, not Athlon FX. The Athlon 64 FX series are basically high-end (2.4-3.0GHz) Athlon 64 CPUs. The only thing different is that they have their multipliers unlocked, unlike regular Athlon 64s who are "top locked." They just gave them the "FX" name because they wanted to distinguish them, and the name sounds kinda cool.

Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core CPUs are like simply having 2 single-core Athlon 64s in one PC. Your clock speed won't double. You'll simply have two cores to use, instead of one. Its the same principle as having two different processors on one motherboard, except this is better. The benefits? As far as gaming goes, only a handful of games are even STARTING to support Dual-Core CPUs so basically, you'll only see the performance of one core in games. As far as other tasks go, however, multitasking will become incredibly smooth. For example; you'll be able to run 4 games at a time , something you couldn't even dream of on a regular single-core.

Incase you haven't noticed yet; AMD DOES have Dual Core CPUs. What more, they blow away Intel's Dual Core. There is NOTHING that Intel Pentoim-Ds excel in compared to Athlon 64 X2s. There are a couple of reasons for this, including that the Athlon 64 X2s don't have to go to the Northbridge to talk to eachother, and that they aeren't starved for memory bandwidth like Pentium-Ds.

HyperThreading is like fake Dual Core. Yes, it ends up having the same effect as Dual Core, but not quite to the same extent. HT is more like 1.5 cores actually, ask Intel themselves. Basically, no one comes close to the computing power of the Athlon 64 X2s.

Can you afford to buy a new processor in the future? If so, do as chickenfoot said and buy a Athlon 64 Single-Core, then upgrade to a Dual-Core in the future (yes, Socket 939 supports them both). If not, then how much CAN you spend right now? Depending on that, go with as high of a Dual-Core CPU as you can.

Bleh, one more thing I guess I should mention; Intel Pentium-Ds are cheaper than Athlon 64 X2s, but like I said, they're no match for the Athlon 64s.
__________________

Flanker2 is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 11:34 AM   #12 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

Looking to spend no more than 250 for a CPU, which is about 1 step down from the best Athlon 64. But it sounds like X2's would be a great investment once apps and games start supporting it, but of course it's 3 times more expensive then what I was wanting, I'll be holding off on that one. Thanks for the info, both of ya.
__________________

Thresh is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 11:44 AM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 58
Default

...You know there is more than one Athlon 64 processor right? $250 would get you a 3500+ (2.2GHz, 512KB L2 cache, $219). The 2nd best Athlon 64 processor is the FX-57 (2.6GHz, 1MB L2 cache, $811).

The cheapest X2 processor is the X2 3800+ (Dual 2.0Ghz, 2 x 512KB L2 cache, $347).

You already have a 3400+, why do you want a new processor?
Flanker2 is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 12:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

right I knew that, excluding the fx and x2 is what I meant...

Im thinking about 6 months into the future here, just getting an idea of what im going to be looking for.
Thresh is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 05:10 PM   #15 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Quote:
I was thinking about getting a fast graphics card (like 1 step down from the best) and a mobo that supports SLI and just buy the same card again once it gets slow for cheap about year or so down the road,
With the new drivers released by nVidia, you don't have to have the exact same cards for SLI.

There are a couple of threads about this in HW Off Topic.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 05:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

Would be a waist of money if you think about it, the gpu from those two could only go as fast as the slowest one which is a waist of the newer graphics cards power.
__________________

Thresh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.