Economical and proactive thinking for a new PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2005, 12:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default Economical and proactive thinking for a new PC

Ok, not sure why I haven't thought of this before, and I never thought I would be asking a hardware question (shhhhhh...) but like SLI you can use 1 CPU on a duel core cpu mobo at a time right? I was thinking about getting a fast graphics card (like 1 step down from the best) and a mobo that supports SLI and just buy the same card again once it gets slow for cheap about year or so down the road, then do the same with the CPU, when that gets old add the same CPU (instead of buying a new and better cpu, video card, and mobo). I guess I could look it up but other things come into play like how does it effect performance, how well it works with gaming and other apps, the cost of a mobo like that, how stable a setup like that is, etc....

Hmmmm does athlon 64 even support duel core? Guess that means I would have to convert to intel?

EDIT: Well damn, do they even have a 2 CPU and 2 Graphics Cards capable mobo out? I'm not seeing them...
__________________

Thresh is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 12:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Dual core CPU's have 2 cores within them. Only needing 1 PGA socket.

Now multiple CPU boards is a differen't story usally for servers or workstations.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 12:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

Ah gotcha, so do the speeds double? What are the downsides and plus's? Does AMD Athlon (64?) support it?

I'm a dual core and sli noob, I just remember hearing alot about it because macs were the ones to really start marketing it on there powerhouse computers. Then they started using it on PC's and thought it was too pricey, but thought maybe you only have to use 1 CPU at a time like SLI and GPU's, but nvm that idea was blown away.
Thresh is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 12:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I know for sure the speed is not doubled. But the second core will be utilized with multithreaded Aplications. Games at this moment don't use the second Core but they will in the near future. Dual cores are good for heavy multitasking or doing CAD and many video editing software.

Im sure someone else has a better explanation then I do.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 12:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

sounds like intels equivalent to amds 64-bit cpu. wait, isn't that hyper threading? ACK! I need to start getting into hardware again, jesus.

guess what i can do is find a popular socket with plenty of room for upgrading in the future, because ill be having this board for awhile.
Thresh is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 12:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 185
Default

If you're going to upgrade in the future, you can buy a single-core processor first, then when you upgrade, buy a dual core processor. That way, you can save money on the first processor since gaming doesn't use the second core.
__________________
AMD Athlon-64 3000+
MSI K8N Neo4-F nForce4
1024 MB [512x2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
ATI Radeon X700 256MB
80GB Hard Drive 7200 RPM
chickenfoot is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 12:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

Damnnnnn.... they got PC4000 now to, 500mhz!! Ummm yeah, ima start doing some catching up.

EDIT: OMGWTF PC 2 6400 DDR2 800mhz!~~~ lolz
Thresh is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 12:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by chickenfoot
If you're going to upgrade in the future, you can buy a single-core processor first, then when you upgrade, buy a dual core processor. That way, you can save money on the first processor since gaming doesn't use the second core.
who all supports dual core?
Thresh is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 12:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 185
Default

If you're using an AMD-based system, you'll most likely get socket 939. Socket 939 includes Athlon 64 (mainstream), Athlon FX (hardcore gaming), and Athlon X2 (dual core). So basically, you can buy an Athlon 64 first, then you can switch for an Athlon X2 later when you upgrade. So this way you do not need to buy another motherboard.
__________________
AMD Athlon-64 3000+
MSI K8N Neo4-F nForce4
1024 MB [512x2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
ATI Radeon X700 256MB
80GB Hard Drive 7200 RPM
chickenfoot is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 01:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

Well, most apps and games arent even using Athlon's 64 bit capability so why wouldn't you want to go with them? They're cheap and have potential... How much better really is Athlon X2 "dual core"? And where the hell does FX come in? I need to look at some specs or something... to many CPU questions...
__________________

Thresh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.