ECC ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2006, 11:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
DAG
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 29
Default ECC ram

Hi,

I've got a Dell Precision 450 Workstation- 2.8 ghz xeon. It came with 1 gb ECC ram. It supports up to 2 gb ECC ram or 4 gb non-ECC. And if I go with ECC, it has to be unbuffered according to Dell.

My question is...do I really need ECC ram? This is my workstation, I leave it on almost 24/7, and I do design work mostly in Photoshop. 2-3 times a week I have to encode video. No games, but I do watch and deal with video fairly often.

Nothing's really mission-critical, this isn't a server, and I don't do any CAD.

If I went with unbuffered non-ECC, I might get this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145574

or an equivalent OCZ or PQI or something similar.

If I went with unbuffered ECC, then I'd probably buy Crucial http://www.crucial.com/store/MPartsp...&WSPN=CT566801

What would you guys suggest? I'm looking to upgrade to 2gb.

One other thing...if I go with that unbuffered ECC from crucial, it doesn't come with a heat spreader. Would it be worth it to get one separately, or that would be kinda pointless? I should add I don't overclock and don't plan to.
__________________

DAG is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 11:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

1 heat spreaders dont do **** really.
2 ECC ram just goes slower to decreases memory errors and is really only used for servers.
3 your best bet is to just get 4 gig of regular ram and get something that supports it to increase your speed.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 12:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
DAG
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 29
Default

well ECC is what came with the computer...which is not marketed as a server.

also...isn't there an issue running xp pro with a full 4 gigs of ram? like you have to set some flags when booting? is that stable, or will there be much noticeable performance improvement with 4 over 2?
DAG is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 02:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

It dosent do much when you have over 3gig of ram i dont suppose. ECC ram though is much better in a server because you dont want to be sending or recieving bad information from possible memory errors. Thats pretty much what ECC ram is made for. If your not hosting for games or for leeching then you really dont need to worry about it. Also there are other OS's besides XP pro like Vista coming up and XP x64 and all. 4gig though will be better for the future.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 02:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
DAG
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 29
Default

so what ram would you buy in my case? the corsair? or just go with valueram?
DAG is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 03:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

Well im currently going to upgrade to 4gig Corsair Valueselect but thats becasue i know the difference between the 2. If you have the money get some igh grade Corsair or OCZ. If not value ram isnt as bad as ppl try to say.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 10:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

value ram = high end ram at stock. dont waste your money buy value ram.
__________________

efd753 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.