Ebay Computers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2007, 10:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22
Default Ebay Computers

Hi guys,

I have been looking at upgrading my computer for a long time now. The thing is, I live in Australia, and the options here are terrible. I have been looking at buying from a major company in America, but they mostly dont ship to Australia (eg Newegg). TigerDirect does ship to Australia, but its not worth the $800 American shipping.

I am looking at buying a whole computer for $2000 American, which must include (tower, monitor, keyboard, speakers and mouse) and shipping. Are there any good American options rather than EBAY??

I am a gamer, and am therefore looking at the 8800 GTS or GTX.

Im not sure if this is allowed, but is this a good option?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=150097421589

or

http://cgi.ebay.com/Gaming-Core-2-Du...QQcmdZViewItem

Thank you sincerely,

Andrew.
__________________

Chugget is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 10:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22
Default

Just a quick follow up on the above information. I asked locally for an 8800GTS rig, with Gigabyte DS3 board and e6600 processor.... $3,500 AUD ($2,700 USD).
__________________

Chugget is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 10:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Man thats incredible that the prices are that expensive. I can build that system for I bet you 1600 bucks in american...hrrrm how can we smuggle this thing to Australia for free? :P

Do you have family or friends in the states at all that it can be shipped to them and then to you? How much would it be for a friend to send it to you?
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22
Default

LOL Sora... Dont say I didnt think that first.. :P

Prices here are simply disgraceful. We have friends over in America, but they are from our FEAR clan. I really like them and trust them, but with 2,500 bucks....

For those 2 systems i posted, $160 American for postage (Tower only). Any other options I havent possibly looked into (not Dell)..
Chugget is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 11:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default

Do you have say...... a relative that lives here in the states? Best and cheapest thing to do is probably ask them (if you have any) to buy the parts for you and pay them for what it cost them. Typically, shipping from here in the U.S. to the Philippines is for 100-150 lbs of weight only cost $100.00 U.S., I assume that they cost the same from here to Australia
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 11:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sora
Man thats incredible that the prices are that expensive. I can build that system for I bet you 1600 bucks in american...hrrrm how can we smuggle this thing to Australia for free? :P

Do you have family or friends in the states at all that it can be shipped to them and then to you? How much would it be for a friend to send it to you?
Ye, electronics prices out there cost a lot. You would expect them to cost less but nope. I expected electronics prices in the Philippines to cost much less since some are made in its neighboring countries but I guess I was wrong. A $200.00 dell PC here will cost you like around $1000.00 there. Which makes me wonder, how in the world do they think people in those nations would come up with the money to be able to afford that pc with that kind of price? Especially the fact that the average yearly income for families there are less than $1000.00 a year.
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 11:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

MM a FEAR clan...yea I wouldn't trust them with that much...

hrrrm...that's tough...I'm sure there has to be a way to get it here. Lol i'm surprised you can't like have newegg ship to a post office and then the office ships it out via credit card to you...I'm not sure explore the possibilities!
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 11:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22
Default

We dont have any family in America which was my first thought. I hadnt really thought of using the post office. I wonder how that works... Another problem is if the product is faulty. The only return option is back to America, right??
Chugget is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 11:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Yep >.> But at that price your products should not be faulty. Just choose good brands heh.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 11:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22
Default

I will. Ive gone over the forums here like a million times over the past 3 months (yes 3 months!!!!!!). 2 GIG G-Skill RAM (6400), Gigabyte DS3, 2 times 250 gig segate (or 320-80), 2 optical drives... the usual. Off the top of your head, would you happen to know any more information about the post office option??

Thanks man.......
__________________

Chugget is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.